Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
Geat tasting bars!! But the recipe is a little off. Pull out a square pan as well as the 9 by 13 in. pan and see which one works best for you.Use less nuts and double all the ingredients except the cream and caramel (you will have leftovers but its better then not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
This is an absolutely wonderful bar cookie. I have made it numerous times for friends at work and we all love them. But I find if I double the crust ingredients to make them thicker they are even better, not so rich that way. I rated them a 4 for quickness and easiness because it is an effort to unwrap all the caramels and little messy to melt them. The kids love to help unwrap but I'm not sure about them helping with the melting. BTW the kids love to eat them too, if grown-ups would only share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
ooooooooh soooooooo good! DOUBLE EVERYTHING AND EAT IT ALL! :-)))) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Amazing! I used milk instead of the heavy cream and omitted the walnuts (because I didn't have either on hand, LOL!), and they turned out just wonderful. I love the crust and the combination of the flavors is unique and delicious. A definite make-it-again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I love this recipe. I use coconut instead of walnuts YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This recipe was a HUGE hit at my brother-in-laws college graduation. I did use all of the crust for the bottom and ended up making more for the topping. I used about 1/4 c. butter, 1/2 c.flour, 1/2 c oats and 1/4 c. brown sugar. I did end up adding more flour to the crust so it was a little more grainy then doughy. I also ended up cooking it longer then the recipe states as my bottom was thicker. It was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
This recipe earned 5 stars for taste and appearance but there is no way it will fit in a 9x13 pan unless the dough ingredients are doubled. I made this recipe in a 11x7 brownie pan and the thickness was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
These are fabulous! Like others have said - use a smaller pan. I made them with cashews (instead of walnuts) and peanut butter chips (instead of chocolate). I like the idea of making the dough with more flour (or less butter) to make it less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I'd like to try this recipe, but there's no way I'm unwrapping all those caramels, jeez what a drag. If you have to buy heavy cream anyway, and dirty a pan to do the caramel part anyway, why not make the caramel from scratch? It'd be so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I saw this recipe at 5 p.m. and had it made by 6 p.m. Served it for dessert at 6:30 and my husband said to give it 5 and 1/2 stars! We really enjoyed this bar. I made it in an 11 X 7 and reduced the butter to 1/2 C. It was still rich and gooey, but not too greasy. Thanks, Jordanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States