Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
More caramel and chips. Wasn't THRILLED w/ the oat mixture, but was ok. These taste best warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These are awesome. I've made them a few different times and tried a few different suggestions. I left out the heavy cream and subbed a splash of skim milk in the caramel mixture, turns out great. If you cut down the butter to 1/2 cup, the crust part is a bit more crumbly before it is cooked, but perfect when finished. I tried adding a bit of milk to the crust mixture when leaving out the butter, made for a much more gooey texture of the precooked AND cooked bars. Either way tastes delicious. These have been a hit every time I've made them and with each variation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
We made 1-1/2 times the oat mixture, which turned out perfectly in the 9x13 pan. Absolutely love it! We made a 2nd batch without the walnuts, but it wasn't nearly as good as the one with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Interesting dessert. Cook this in a 8X8 pan. I used a 1/2 cup of chopped cashews instead of walnuts. I also mixed the cashews and the morsels in a bag before adding it to the oatmeal crust. I'm not sure if I would add nuts again; you can barely taste them in the bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good! I actually used "butter" as the recipe called for too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These are amazing! I made an 8x8 pan, otherwise there would not have been enough crust in my opinion. However, this left me with too much caramel so they were REALLY gooey! Oh, well, we just had to eat them with a fork. I got raving reviews when we had my parents over for dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Mannnnnnn oh man. I HATE how good these bars taste, mainly because I cannot seem to control how many I eat. I have a large 11 X 15 baking pan that I use to make these. I make 2.5 times the flour, sugar, oats, baking soda & butter. I make double the caramel sauce and eyeball the chocolate chips. I also use pecans instead of walnuts. Everyone loves these bars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Crumbled really easily, but tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachcook623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Based on reviews from others, I doubled the oats, flour and baking soda. I increased the brown sugar to 1 cup (thought doubling that would be too sweet). I stuck with the 3/4 cup of butter as the recipe says. I found that this made for too much crust which overpowered the caramel, chocolate, walnut mixture (I made this "fillling" as recipe states). Next time I will make 1.5 of the recipe for the "crust" and use the whole bag of the caramels (50 caramels), and possibly reduce the amount of chocolate chips as I also found those to be a bit overpowering. Also, I used half whole wheat flour. DEFINITELY bake in a foil lined pan and DO NOT attempt to cut until cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My sister is in the Air Force and currently deployed in Iraq. I made a double batch of these and sent them to her and her crew, she said they were a HUGE hit and were all gobbled up within 10 minutes of arriving there. I quadrupled the crumble mixture, and doubled the caramel, nut, chocolate filling, and divided in two 9x13 baking dishes. (made MANY bars) I cut into squares, individually wrapped each square in plastic wrap, and placed the wrapped bars in tupperware containers before packing. These took 7 days to arrive in Iraq and my sister said they were still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States