Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I always get rave reviews from this recipe. I prefer a thicker oat:cara-choco-nut:oat ratio, so using the same size pan; I double the oat layer dough, cutting back the butter by 1/4cup (to 1 1/4 cups total) and use 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour instead of 2 cups of regular flour. I've also tried adding a little bit of cinnamon to the oat layer and mixing and matching chocolate chip/nut mixes which have also turned out great! Very recommended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
More caramel and chips. Wasn't THRILLED w/ the oat mixture, but was ok. These taste best warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These are awesome. I've made them a few different times and tried a few different suggestions. I left out the heavy cream and subbed a splash of skim milk in the caramel mixture, turns out great. If you cut down the butter to 1/2 cup, the crust part is a bit more crumbly before it is cooked, but perfect when finished. I tried adding a bit of milk to the crust mixture when leaving out the butter, made for a much more gooey texture of the precooked AND cooked bars. Either way tastes delicious. These have been a hit every time I've made them and with each variation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
We made 1-1/2 times the oat mixture, which turned out perfectly in the 9x13 pan. Absolutely love it! We made a 2nd batch without the walnuts, but it wasn't nearly as good as the one with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Interesting dessert. Cook this in a 8X8 pan. I used a 1/2 cup of chopped cashews instead of walnuts. I also mixed the cashews and the morsels in a bag before adding it to the oatmeal crust. I'm not sure if I would add nuts again; you can barely taste them in the bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good! I actually used "butter" as the recipe called for too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These are amazing! I made an 8x8 pan, otherwise there would not have been enough crust in my opinion. However, this left me with too much caramel so they were REALLY gooey! Oh, well, we just had to eat them with a fork. I got raving reviews when we had my parents over for dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Mannnnnnn oh man. I HATE how good these bars taste, mainly because I cannot seem to control how many I eat. I have a large 11 X 15 baking pan that I use to make these. I make 2.5 times the flour, sugar, oats, baking soda & butter. I make double the caramel sauce and eyeball the chocolate chips. I also use pecans instead of walnuts. Everyone loves these bars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Crumbled really easily, but tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachcook623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Based on reviews from others, I doubled the oats, flour and baking soda. I increased the brown sugar to 1 cup (thought doubling that would be too sweet). I stuck with the 3/4 cup of butter as the recipe says. I found that this made for too much crust which overpowered the caramel, chocolate, walnut mixture (I made this "fillling" as recipe states). Next time I will make 1.5 of the recipe for the "crust" and use the whole bag of the caramels (50 caramels), and possibly reduce the amount of chocolate chips as I also found those to be a bit overpowering. Also, I used half whole wheat flour. DEFINITELY bake in a foil lined pan and DO NOT attempt to cut until cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States