Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Fabulous! I used milk chocolate chips and left out nuts (kids' preference.) Used about 1/3 more caramels and 7 T of whole milk. Doubled the crust and made ina 9 x 13 pan. Buttery deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Awsome!! The only thing i did do differently is I put it in a smaller pan. The 13 x 9 pan is just way to big for this recipe. If you want to make a thick bar use a smaller pan. Overall this recipe was very tastey and the kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The only complaint I have, is that they were tough to bite into. I prefer to bite in a soft bar. I baked these, and another on this site for a PTO bake sale. If I had extra ingredients, I would have made the other recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Definitely cut down on the butter. If you follow the recipe using the amount of butter it says to, it gets too greasy. Definitely make this in a smaller pan too Otherwise, I think this might be ok. I probably will not make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
These are very good, but two things. 1 - there is a lot of crust/topping compared to the other ingredients. The predominant flavors were this and the caramel. The chocolate was less so, and the walnuts were so lost I didn't taste them at all. 2 - the bars were somewhat difficult to remove from the pan. Some of the caramel leaked to the sides, which crusted over hard. I had to use a metal spatula to pry them from the sides and I can only hope to remove the hardened caramel from the sides of the pan after soaking it overnight. Overall, a very good recipe. Will probably make again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I always get rave reviews from this recipe. I prefer a thicker oat:cara-choco-nut:oat ratio, so using the same size pan; I double the oat layer dough, cutting back the butter by 1/4cup (to 1 1/4 cups total) and use 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour instead of 2 cups of regular flour. I've also tried adding a little bit of cinnamon to the oat layer and mixing and matching chocolate chip/nut mixes which have also turned out great! Very recommended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
More caramel and chips. Wasn't THRILLED w/ the oat mixture, but was ok. These taste best warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These are awesome. I've made them a few different times and tried a few different suggestions. I left out the heavy cream and subbed a splash of skim milk in the caramel mixture, turns out great. If you cut down the butter to 1/2 cup, the crust part is a bit more crumbly before it is cooked, but perfect when finished. I tried adding a bit of milk to the crust mixture when leaving out the butter, made for a much more gooey texture of the precooked AND cooked bars. Either way tastes delicious. These have been a hit every time I've made them and with each variation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
We made 1-1/2 times the oat mixture, which turned out perfectly in the 9x13 pan. Absolutely love it! We made a 2nd batch without the walnuts, but it wasn't nearly as good as the one with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Interesting dessert. Cook this in a 8X8 pan. I used a 1/2 cup of chopped cashews instead of walnuts. I also mixed the cashews and the morsels in a bag before adding it to the oatmeal crust. I'm not sure if I would add nuts again; you can barely taste them in the bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States