Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the oat mixture but only used one cup of butter. Worked out great for a 9 x 13 pan. I lined it with parchment to make removing/cutting easier. I also used the caramel bits instead of individualy wrapped candies. These were delicious and very well-recieved at work! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPegs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I liked this recipe, but I would not make them again. They just were not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
MAKE IT IN A 8X11 PAN!!!! These are so good, but the 9X13 pan is just too big. That being said, I made it according to the recipe (only subbing pecans for walnuts - personal preference) and it turned out great. Super easy too. The one drawback is that they are very fragile and gooey, so I have also modified the recipe in order to add them to my Christmas cookie list. I took a cookie base (similar to chocolate chip cookies) from another recipe which is baked on a 10X15 cookie sheet, upped the caramels to a whole package (50) and cream to 7 tablespoons and increased the nuts and chocolate chips to 3/4 cup. The oat mixture was perfect to cover just the top of the large sheet. My sweets eaters (husband and 20 year old son) both said they like it better with the cookie base, but they raved about the original too. Fantastic both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this exactly according to the recipe. Pretty good, but I will make changes next time. First, more caramel, definitely more caramel! Second, a thicker oatmeal base. I will double that part of the recipe. Third, I was really able to taste the little bit of salt in the recipe. I haven't seen this complaint in the other reviews, so maybe it is just me. I seem to be really sensitive to salt when it is in an oatmeal recipe. All in all, a quick, yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Holy molly these were amazing...........too good (I ate the whole pan.) I followed the recipe as stated but used an 8x8 pan instead of the 9 x 13. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Wonderful. I always make a 12x18 size pan of these, because they go so fast. Followed alot of the suggested changes. I increase the oat mixture by 3 times, reducing the butter to 1/2 cup (for a total of 1 1/2 c.) Keep the chocolate chips at 1/2 c, and chop them up. Double the caramel mixture and sprinkle it with kosher salt before putting the remaining oatmeal mixture on top. Salted Caramel Oatmeal bars. Soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These Bars are quick to make and so good! I cant wait to make them for my co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeputysRN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
SO simple. SO yummy. Perfect just as written. Made absolutely no changes! =0) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Prothro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very good! But as written - it really should go into an 8x8 or 9x9 pan - not a 13x9. If you want to use the larger size pan, do as others suggest and double to base ingredients (1 cup butter is enough). There wasn't enough for the topping if you don't. The flavors are wonderful together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States