Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was amazing. I brought it in to the office and even the hardcore picky eaters were crazy about them. I did double the crust, as I like a thicker crust on cookie bars. I'll make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delicious. I doubled the crust ingredients and it made the just enough for an 8x8 dish. I have absolutely now idea how the recipe as written would fit in a 9x13 dish. I've deducted a star for this. Also, make sure to bake the bottom long enough to firm it up. Otherwise the caramel just melts into the bottom and isn't a distinct layer. For easy, neat application of the top layer, let the top crust dough harden in the refrigerator for a few minutes while the bottom bakes. Then you can put the dough between two pieces of plastic wrap and roll out like a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Oh wow these are good!! I seriously couldn't quit eating these, which means I probably shouldn't make them very often. :-0 I didn't change anything. I probably would add a few more (1/4 - 1/2 cup) walnuts if I made again. YUM. Also, I read some of the reviews that said if you use a 9 x 13 pan, you should double the crust. I don't agree. I put down parchment paper and the crust didn't quite reach the sides when I pressed it on the bottom, but I made it anyway, and the end result was perfect and just the right thickness in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These bars are very sweet, with very little flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Oh my! These bars are wonderful and really easy to make! I had leftover coconut but forgot to add it :( Cut them into small pieces, for they are super sweet and rich. But oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Home Town: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made these for a holiday party and they were a hit! Delicious and easy to make. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
These are dangerous! You can't help but be tempted to eat all of them. The only reason I didn't give this recipe a 5* was because I can't imagine making these in a 9x13 pan! And why would you want to double the crust mixture of these CARAMEL bars to make it fit in a 9x13 pan? That doesn't make sense to me. Just make them in an 8x8 pan and wala, perfection! I think there's plenty of topping mixture, I used a whole bag of caramels (might use a few extra text time) and also used a little extra nuts, but other than that I made them in an 8x8 pan, baked as directed, and they were amazing. I pressed the top crust onto the caramel mixture and I had no problems with it falling apart. I really think this recipe was made to be baked in an 8x8 pan. I'm adding them to my Christmas gift boxes this year. I yielded 12 nice size bars…in my 8x8 pan!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was really good. I used a 13X9 pan, doubled the crust (using a cup butter), omitted the walnuts and used 1 c. chocolate chips. Instead of melting caramels, I used my own recipe with ingredients I normally have on hand. Melt 1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. corn syrup over medium heat. Bring to boil. While stirring constantly, boil for 3 minutes or until your caramel starts to thicken. To test, dip a spoon in it. Let cool. It should still be a little gooey because you cook it longer in the oven. The longer it boils, the harder it gets. Once it gets to the consistency you like, add 1/2 tsp baking soda and boil an additional 30 seconds. Dump on top of the chocolate/oat mixture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I go with the recommendation of doubling the dry ingredients for the top and bottom with only 1 cup of melted butter. I use 1 cup of mini chocolate chips and 1 cup chopped walnuts with a 14 oz bag of wrapped caramels melted with 7 tbspns of heavy cream all baked in a 9x13 foil lined glass pan. So so delicious!!! Thank you Jordanna for this awesome combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the oat mixture but only used one cup of butter. Worked out great for a 9 x 13 pan. I lined it with parchment to make removing/cutting easier. I also used the caramel bits instead of individualy wrapped candies. These were delicious and very well-recieved at work! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPegs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States