Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made these for a holiday party and they were a hit! Delicious and easy to make. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
These are dangerous! You can't help but be tempted to eat all of them. The only reason I didn't give this recipe a 5* was because I can't imagine making these in a 9x13 pan! And why would you want to double the crust mixture of these CARAMEL bars to make it fit in a 9x13 pan? That doesn't make sense to me. Just make them in an 8x8 pan and wala, perfection! I think there's plenty of topping mixture, I used a whole bag of caramels (might use a few extra text time) and also used a little extra nuts, but other than that I made them in an 8x8 pan, baked as directed, and they were amazing. I pressed the top crust onto the caramel mixture and I had no problems with it falling apart. I really think this recipe was made to be baked in an 8x8 pan. I'm adding them to my Christmas gift boxes this year. I yielded 12 nice size bars…in my 8x8 pan!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was really good. I used a 13X9 pan, doubled the crust (using a cup butter), omitted the walnuts and used 1 c. chocolate chips. Instead of melting caramels, I used my own recipe with ingredients I normally have on hand. Melt 1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. corn syrup over medium heat. Bring to boil. While stirring constantly, boil for 3 minutes or until your caramel starts to thicken. To test, dip a spoon in it. Let cool. It should still be a little gooey because you cook it longer in the oven. The longer it boils, the harder it gets. Once it gets to the consistency you like, add 1/2 tsp baking soda and boil an additional 30 seconds. Dump on top of the chocolate/oat mixture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I go with the recommendation of doubling the dry ingredients for the top and bottom with only 1 cup of melted butter. I use 1 cup of mini chocolate chips and 1 cup chopped walnuts with a 14 oz bag of wrapped caramels melted with 7 tbspns of heavy cream all baked in a 9x13 foil lined glass pan. So so delicious!!! Thank you Jordanna for this awesome combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the oat mixture but only used one cup of butter. Worked out great for a 9 x 13 pan. I lined it with parchment to make removing/cutting easier. I also used the caramel bits instead of individualy wrapped candies. These were delicious and very well-recieved at work! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPegs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I liked this recipe, but I would not make them again. They just were not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
MAKE IT IN A 8X11 PAN!!!! These are so good, but the 9X13 pan is just too big. That being said, I made it according to the recipe (only subbing pecans for walnuts - personal preference) and it turned out great. Super easy too. The one drawback is that they are very fragile and gooey, so I have also modified the recipe in order to add them to my Christmas cookie list. I took a cookie base (similar to chocolate chip cookies) from another recipe which is baked on a 10X15 cookie sheet, upped the caramels to a whole package (50) and cream to 7 tablespoons and increased the nuts and chocolate chips to 3/4 cup. The oat mixture was perfect to cover just the top of the large sheet. My sweets eaters (husband and 20 year old son) both said they like it better with the cookie base, but they raved about the original too. Fantastic both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this exactly according to the recipe. Pretty good, but I will make changes next time. First, more caramel, definitely more caramel! Second, a thicker oatmeal base. I will double that part of the recipe. Third, I was really able to taste the little bit of salt in the recipe. I haven't seen this complaint in the other reviews, so maybe it is just me. I seem to be really sensitive to salt when it is in an oatmeal recipe. All in all, a quick, yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Holy molly these were amazing...........too good (I ate the whole pan.) I followed the recipe as stated but used an 8x8 pan instead of the 9 x 13. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States