Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was amazing. I brought it in to the office and even the hardcore picky eaters were crazy about them. I did double the crust, as I like a thicker crust on cookie bars. I'll make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delicious. I doubled the crust ingredients and it made the just enough for an 8x8 dish. I have absolutely now idea how the recipe as written would fit in a 9x13 dish. I've deducted a star for this. Also, make sure to bake the bottom long enough to firm it up. Otherwise the caramel just melts into the bottom and isn't a distinct layer. For easy, neat application of the top layer, let the top crust dough harden in the refrigerator for a few minutes while the bottom bakes. Then you can put the dough between two pieces of plastic wrap and roll out like a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Oh wow these are good!! I seriously couldn't quit eating these, which means I probably shouldn't make them very often. :-0 I didn't change anything. I probably would add a few more (1/4 - 1/2 cup) walnuts if I made again. YUM. Also, I read some of the reviews that said if you use a 9 x 13 pan, you should double the crust. I don't agree. I put down parchment paper and the crust didn't quite reach the sides when I pressed it on the bottom, but I made it anyway, and the end result was perfect and just the right thickness in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These bars are very sweet, with very little flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Oh my! These bars are wonderful and really easy to make! I had leftover coconut but forgot to add it :( Cut them into small pieces, for they are super sweet and rich. But oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Home Town: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made these for a holiday party and they were a hit! Delicious and easy to make. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
These are dangerous! You can't help but be tempted to eat all of them. The only reason I didn't give this recipe a 5* was because I can't imagine making these in a 9x13 pan! And why would you want to double the crust mixture of these CARAMEL bars to make it fit in a 9x13 pan? That doesn't make sense to me. Just make them in an 8x8 pan and wala, perfection! I think there's plenty of topping mixture, I used a whole bag of caramels (might use a few extra text time) and also used a little extra nuts, but other than that I made them in an 8x8 pan, baked as directed, and they were amazing. I pressed the top crust onto the caramel mixture and I had no problems with it falling apart. I really think this recipe was made to be baked in an 8x8 pan. I'm adding them to my Christmas gift boxes this year. I yielded 12 nice size bars…in my 8x8 pan!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was really good. I used a 13X9 pan, doubled the crust (using a cup butter), omitted the walnuts and used 1 c. chocolate chips. Instead of melting caramels, I used my own recipe with ingredients I normally have on hand. Melt 1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. corn syrup over medium heat. Bring to boil. While stirring constantly, boil for 3 minutes or until your caramel starts to thicken. To test, dip a spoon in it. Let cool. It should still be a little gooey because you cook it longer in the oven. The longer it boils, the harder it gets. Once it gets to the consistency you like, add 1/2 tsp baking soda and boil an additional 30 seconds. Dump on top of the chocolate/oat mixture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I go with the recommendation of doubling the dry ingredients for the top and bottom with only 1 cup of melted butter. I use 1 cup of mini chocolate chips and 1 cup chopped walnuts with a 14 oz bag of wrapped caramels melted with 7 tbspns of heavy cream all baked in a 9x13 foil lined glass pan. So so delicious!!! Thank you Jordanna for this awesome combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
As other reviewers suggested, I doubled the oat mixture but only used one cup of butter. Worked out great for a 9 x 13 pan. I lined it with parchment to make removing/cutting easier. I also used the caramel bits instead of individualy wrapped candies. These were delicious and very well-recieved at work! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPegs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States