Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
These are great! I have been making a similar recipe for years, but mine called for cutting in cold butter (time consuming!)I used the melted butter with the same results. I also doubled the crust ingredients, used 2 cups of chocolate chips and 1 cup of pecans. I use a 12 oz. jar of caramel ice cream topping mixed with 1/4 cup flour. These are always a hit! Especially for those who don't realize how much butter is in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reinie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Meh...these were just ok. IF (most likely not) I were to ever make these again I would probably omit the chocolate chips. It totally drowned out the caramel flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Wow this was so good. I even forgot the chocolate chips and it was still awesome. For caramel lovers everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurie
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Hi, This is the "cookie" recipe that my friends and family request the most. It is decadently delicious! I have used this recipe several times. I increased the ingredients by 50% and used an 11 x 7 pan. Also, I do not melt the caramels until I put the crust in the oven the first time because they melt very quickly. If you love caramel, this is it! Laurie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I read the reviews about needing more oatmeal mixture for the crust, so I doubled the quantity and then had TOO much. I agree with those that said you can cut back on the butter however. Overall, these bars were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was amazing. I brought it in to the office and even the hardcore picky eaters were crazy about them. I did double the crust, as I like a thicker crust on cookie bars. I'll make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delicious. I doubled the crust ingredients and it made the just enough for an 8x8 dish. I have absolutely now idea how the recipe as written would fit in a 9x13 dish. I've deducted a star for this. Also, make sure to bake the bottom long enough to firm it up. Otherwise the caramel just melts into the bottom and isn't a distinct layer. For easy, neat application of the top layer, let the top crust dough harden in the refrigerator for a few minutes while the bottom bakes. Then you can put the dough between two pieces of plastic wrap and roll out like a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Oh wow these are good!! I seriously couldn't quit eating these, which means I probably shouldn't make them very often. :-0 I didn't change anything. I probably would add a few more (1/4 - 1/2 cup) walnuts if I made again. YUM. Also, I read some of the reviews that said if you use a 9 x 13 pan, you should double the crust. I don't agree. I put down parchment paper and the crust didn't quite reach the sides when I pressed it on the bottom, but I made it anyway, and the end result was perfect and just the right thickness in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These bars are very sweet, with very little flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Oh my! These bars are wonderful and really easy to make! I had leftover coconut but forgot to add it :( Cut them into small pieces, for they are super sweet and rich. But oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Home Town: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States