Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is a great recipe! These bars won me best in show at the county fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
These are great! I have been making a similar recipe for years, but mine called for cutting in cold butter (time consuming!)I used the melted butter with the same results. I also doubled the crust ingredients, used 2 cups of chocolate chips and 1 cup of pecans. I use a 12 oz. jar of caramel ice cream topping mixed with 1/4 cup flour. These are always a hit! Especially for those who don't realize how much butter is in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reinie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Meh...these were just ok. IF (most likely not) I were to ever make these again I would probably omit the chocolate chips. It totally drowned out the caramel flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Wow this was so good. I even forgot the chocolate chips and it was still awesome. For caramel lovers everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurie
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Hi, This is the "cookie" recipe that my friends and family request the most. It is decadently delicious! I have used this recipe several times. I increased the ingredients by 50% and used an 11 x 7 pan. Also, I do not melt the caramels until I put the crust in the oven the first time because they melt very quickly. If you love caramel, this is it! Laurie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I read the reviews about needing more oatmeal mixture for the crust, so I doubled the quantity and then had TOO much. I agree with those that said you can cut back on the butter however. Overall, these bars were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was amazing. I brought it in to the office and even the hardcore picky eaters were crazy about them. I did double the crust, as I like a thicker crust on cookie bars. I'll make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delicious. I doubled the crust ingredients and it made the just enough for an 8x8 dish. I have absolutely now idea how the recipe as written would fit in a 9x13 dish. I've deducted a star for this. Also, make sure to bake the bottom long enough to firm it up. Otherwise the caramel just melts into the bottom and isn't a distinct layer. For easy, neat application of the top layer, let the top crust dough harden in the refrigerator for a few minutes while the bottom bakes. Then you can put the dough between two pieces of plastic wrap and roll out like a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Oh wow these are good!! I seriously couldn't quit eating these, which means I probably shouldn't make them very often. :-0 I didn't change anything. I probably would add a few more (1/4 - 1/2 cup) walnuts if I made again. YUM. Also, I read some of the reviews that said if you use a 9 x 13 pan, you should double the crust. I don't agree. I put down parchment paper and the crust didn't quite reach the sides when I pressed it on the bottom, but I made it anyway, and the end result was perfect and just the right thickness in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These bars are very sweet, with very little flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States