Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
These truly do live up to all the fuss AFTER the recipe is modified a bit: As written there isn't enough oat mixture for both layers so DEFINITELY double it, but the butter is a little excessive so when I double the oat mixture I only use 1 cup of butter. Also I use the whole 14 oz. bag of Kraft caramels (which is a little more than the 32 individual caramels called for). I've used milk when I didn't have heavy cream and I've used rolled oats and quick oats and I've never noticed a difference. I recommend adding in salted peanuts instead of the walnuts, the saltiness cuts down on the sweetness (and these ARE super sweet). I get SO many compliments on these and everyone asks me to make them again and again. They are VERY rich, a small square will do you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
These are very good!!!! I did use an 8X8 pan and it works better in my opinion. Our family loves rolos so instead of the caramel mixture the recipe calls for I used them instead and it was even better!! Just used 3 packages of the candy instead of the individually wrapped ones and cut them into pieces. I did put some chocolate chips in too. Very ymmy and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Very good. Make sure you cut them while they are still warm because they get really hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
OMG! This bar is amazing. Anyone remember Carmelita bars @ Starbucks? I followed suggestions from Chef Joy, March 27, 2008... Perfect. I did not add nuts and used Ghirardelli Carmel Sauce, which I already had on hand, and milk chocolate chips. Oh, I did find that mixing the crust with my hand helped achieve the right consistency. A real treat with Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Holy cow, these are good. When made in an 8X8 pan, they come out thick and gooey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Really good and very rich, cut into small peices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRATTYBLUEEYES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These are pretty good. I did as other reviewers suggested and made it in an 8x8 pan. This seemed to be just the right size. I also did pecans instead of walnuts, pressed the top layer of oatmeal in, and microwaved the caramel and cream and it only took a couple of minutes (stirring after each minute). I used Kraft caramels and they tasted great. I would go ahead and use the whole bag of caramels next time and drizzle some extra on top of the top layer of oatmeal mixture as I kind of like that chewy burnt caramel part. I'm not sure if it would work, but I would like to try it. I waited about 30-45 min then cut so they were mostly cooled but still warm. The pizza cutter idea worked great, but so did the knife. I ended up cutting these in pretty small pieces as they seemed fairly rich and since they are kind of crumbly, I thought it would be better to be "pop-in-your-mouth" size to avoid a huge mess (I have kids).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Wong Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very good and very rich! When I first started making these, I had to make them every week because my husband couldn't get enough of them!! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NASCAR24FAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These bars were so amazing there is nothing i would change or do differently..they are so addicting i cant make them all the time or i would be so fat...haha.....these are great and i would recomend them to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good, but next time (due to personal preference) I will make them without the chocolate, because it seemed to overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States