Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These are amazing! I made an 8x8 pan, otherwise there would not have been enough crust in my opinion. However, this left me with too much caramel so they were REALLY gooey! Oh, well, we just had to eat them with a fork. I got raving reviews when we had my parents over for dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Mannnnnnn oh man. I HATE how good these bars taste, mainly because I cannot seem to control how many I eat. I have a large 11 X 15 baking pan that I use to make these. I make 2.5 times the flour, sugar, oats, baking soda & butter. I make double the caramel sauce and eyeball the chocolate chips. I also use pecans instead of walnuts. Everyone loves these bars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Crumbled really easily, but tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachcook623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Based on reviews from others, I doubled the oats, flour and baking soda. I increased the brown sugar to 1 cup (thought doubling that would be too sweet). I stuck with the 3/4 cup of butter as the recipe says. I found that this made for too much crust which overpowered the caramel, chocolate, walnut mixture (I made this "fillling" as recipe states). Next time I will make 1.5 of the recipe for the "crust" and use the whole bag of the caramels (50 caramels), and possibly reduce the amount of chocolate chips as I also found those to be a bit overpowering. Also, I used half whole wheat flour. DEFINITELY bake in a foil lined pan and DO NOT attempt to cut until cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My sister is in the Air Force and currently deployed in Iraq. I made a double batch of these and sent them to her and her crew, she said they were a HUGE hit and were all gobbled up within 10 minutes of arriving there. I quadrupled the crumble mixture, and doubled the caramel, nut, chocolate filling, and divided in two 9x13 baking dishes. (made MANY bars) I cut into squares, individually wrapped each square in plastic wrap, and placed the wrapped bars in tupperware containers before packing. These took 7 days to arrive in Iraq and my sister said they were still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly except I used 1/2 cup butter and a 1/4 cup milk instead of 3/4 cup butter. I even used a 9x13 in pan and they came out perfectly without doubling the ingredients for the crust/top layer crumble mixture. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktmar12
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Took these to a work potluck and was asked for the recipe many times. Very simple recipe to follow. Used caramel ice cream topping in place of caramels. Next time I will add more chocolate. Good recipe will make many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Flowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Very easy. I had all the ingredients on hand, so throwing these together was quick. The only thing I changed about the recipe was to double the amount of the crust to produce more of a layer on the top. Took them to a bbq and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These are super yummy and super rich. I, too, doubled the 'crumble' and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
These truly do live up to all the fuss AFTER the recipe is modified a bit: As written there isn't enough oat mixture for both layers so DEFINITELY double it, but the butter is a little excessive so when I double the oat mixture I only use 1 cup of butter. Also I use the whole 14 oz. bag of Kraft caramels (which is a little more than the 32 individual caramels called for). I've used milk when I didn't have heavy cream and I've used rolled oats and quick oats and I've never noticed a difference. I recommend adding in salted peanuts instead of the walnuts, the saltiness cuts down on the sweetness (and these ARE super sweet). I get SO many compliments on these and everyone asks me to make them again and again. They are VERY rich, a small square will do you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States