Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly except I used 1/2 cup butter and a 1/4 cup milk instead of 3/4 cup butter. I even used a 9x13 in pan and they came out perfectly without doubling the ingredients for the crust/top layer crumble mixture. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktmar12
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Took these to a work potluck and was asked for the recipe many times. Very simple recipe to follow. Used caramel ice cream topping in place of caramels. Next time I will add more chocolate. Good recipe will make many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Very easy. I had all the ingredients on hand, so throwing these together was quick. The only thing I changed about the recipe was to double the amount of the crust to produce more of a layer on the top. Took them to a bbq and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These are super yummy and super rich. I, too, doubled the 'crumble' and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
These truly do live up to all the fuss AFTER the recipe is modified a bit: As written there isn't enough oat mixture for both layers so DEFINITELY double it, but the butter is a little excessive so when I double the oat mixture I only use 1 cup of butter. Also I use the whole 14 oz. bag of Kraft caramels (which is a little more than the 32 individual caramels called for). I've used milk when I didn't have heavy cream and I've used rolled oats and quick oats and I've never noticed a difference. I recommend adding in salted peanuts instead of the walnuts, the saltiness cuts down on the sweetness (and these ARE super sweet). I get SO many compliments on these and everyone asks me to make them again and again. They are VERY rich, a small square will do you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
These are very good!!!! I did use an 8X8 pan and it works better in my opinion. Our family loves rolos so instead of the caramel mixture the recipe calls for I used them instead and it was even better!! Just used 3 packages of the candy instead of the individually wrapped ones and cut them into pieces. I did put some chocolate chips in too. Very ymmy and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Very good. Make sure you cut them while they are still warm because they get really hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
OMG! This bar is amazing. Anyone remember Carmelita bars @ Starbucks? I followed suggestions from Chef Joy, March 27, 2008... Perfect. I did not add nuts and used Ghirardelli Carmel Sauce, which I already had on hand, and milk chocolate chips. Oh, I did find that mixing the crust with my hand helped achieve the right consistency. A real treat with Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Holy cow, these are good. When made in an 8X8 pan, they come out thick and gooey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Really good and very rich, cut into small peices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRATTYBLUEEYES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States