Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I have been making these caramel apples for a while now. The trick to getting the apples covered, is to turn them while dipping them. I have used crushed oreo cookies, graham crackers, sprinkles, candy corn, nuts, and chocolate chips. All very good. My husband asks for this about 3 times a month. Make sure your apples are nice and cold. (I let them set in the refridge.overnight and this helps the caramel set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
So fast and so easy. I bought caramels in bulk and just unwrapped about 2 cups of them, added 2 Tbs. milk and then microwaved at 50% power for about 2.5 minutes. Let the caramel sit for a couple of minutes before dipping your apples. Tip: have your apples ready to go and in the freezer before dipping them in the caramel. My 18 month old daughter loved licking the caramel off the spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
711 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Yeah Suzie for submitting this recipe!!! I use this recipe every year for my kids' fall fun day. I melt the caramels in a 4 C pyrex cup, so that the apple fits down in the cup. This is the easiest way to dip that I have found (no wasted caramel). I give each child a square of wax paper and have them butter the square. Then with adult help ( the caramel needs to cool a little) I let them decorate the apples from a selection of toppings (candy corn, m&ms, halloween sprinkles, cookie crumbs and any other small candies I can find.). This is certainly the highlight of the party. Always remember to have extra candy... It often gets eaten before the apples can be decorated! Once the apple is decorated, the buttered square can be wrapped up around the apple a little loosely, than tied. It's the perfect way to send them home with the kids. A pre-made tag with the child's name makes it an easy way to distinguish who's apple is who's once you have them in the fridge to harden. (Note: Even when an adult makes the apple, they are not always the prettiest apples, they certainly do not look like the expensive apples that they sell in the upscale candy stores... There must be a trade trick to those apples:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
675 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This recipe saved me! I had to make 500 caramel apples for a church carnival...and this one worked great! It was a perfect consistency. Will definately use again and again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I kept my apples in the refrigerator overnight. Dipping chilled apples seemed to help the caramel set and I had very little "puddling" of caramel at the bottom. I used plastic forks instead of popsicle sticks for handles. I inserted the prong-end of the fork into the apple, which held it securely when the kids bit into the apples. The larger handle was better for little hands, too. Great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Things you need to know! 1) DO NOT wrap your apples in any type of clinging wrap. Even after they've firmed up. It will stick. Serve without wrap or you could try to loosely wrap with waxpaper. 2) Run a knife edge at the bottom of the apple to get all the excess caramel off. It doesn't hurt the look of the apple. 3) Do have a deep dish of sprinkles or other crunched up candy to set the apple in while you are dipping your next apple. Helped to contain the caramel and kept the apples upright. 4) Apples need to have wax removed by dipping in boiling water for a second or just purchase non waxed from your local farmer. 5) apples should be very cold to help set caramel. 6) You can break fork head or spoon head off plasticwear to create a nice stick to stick in your apple. 7) Have your apples ready with the stick in before you melt your caramel. 8) If you're doing a lot of apples, try and buy caramel in a large serving size as opposed to unwrapping 300 individual cubes. UGH! 9) Only melt the 14 oz at a time in the microwave. 1 minute, stir well, then 30 second - stir well intervals. 10) I used my pampered chef 8 cup measuring bowl. It was great. 11) Spray the waxpaper with cooking oil. Recipe was very yummy with cameo apples, but the directions were lacking! Have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Great recipe! Made these yesterday just for fun and they tasted great. Like others I put my apples in the freezer while I melted my caramels and then put them back in the freezer for about 15 minutes. They set up great! Thanks for the quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateandnatesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Caramel was a little too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This is a good recipe. You have to work quick and it's a bit messy. In the end,it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Easy, fast and tasty! I followed the advice of other raters, rolling the waxy apples in boiling water, wiping them down, putting the Popsicle sticks in them, then putting them in the freezer for 15 minutes. I microwaved the caramel and milk for 2 minutes and waited 5 minutes before rolling the apples in it. I found that if you keep spinning the apple over top the dish, after applying caramel, the caramel will, instead of dripping off, roll back over itself and harden as it cools. Do this before rolling in chocolate chips, or the chocolate will melt! I also buttered small squares of wax paper to set the apples on in the fridge, this worked out great! I'm the WORST cook in the world, so if I can do this, anybody can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States