Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by LMF443
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Tasted great. However I found the timing to be a little off as it took me longer than 2 minutes to get the caramel melted. I also had difficulty getting the caramel to stick to the apples. For some, I boiled water, dipped the apple in, and washed off the wax. For others, I didn’t bother. Didn’t make too much of a difference. By the next day, most of the caramel was on the wax paper with a thin coating around the apple. Not that it bothered anyone since they tasted amazing and looked lovely, but hopefully I can figure out how to get the caramel to set on the apples a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I did myself a caramel apple challenge...a few different recipes, and see if I could tell a difference between using milk or water. Well This is a great recipe, very basic, and simple. I don't have anything negative to say about this recipe. The caramel was delish, the recipe was simple and yet fun. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very easy & yummy! My 4 and 7 yr olds made these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Yummy fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
WOW! add candy on top too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bacard100
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Things you need to know! 1) DO NOT wrap your apples in any type of clinging wrap. Even after they've firmed up. It will stick. Serve without wrap or you could try to loosely wrap with waxpaper. 2) Run a knife edge at the bottom of the apple to get all the excess caramel off. It doesn't hurt the look of the apple. 3) Do have a deep dish of sprinkles or other crunched up candy to set the apple in while you are dipping your next apple. Helped to contain the caramel and kept the apples upright. 4) Apples need to have wax removed by dipping in boiling water for a second or just purchase non waxed from your local farmer. 5) apples should be very cold to help set caramel. 6) You can break fork head or spoon head off plasticwear to create a nice stick to stick in your apple. 7) Have your apples ready with the stick in before you melt your caramel. 8) If you're doing a lot of apples, try and buy caramel in a large serving size as opposed to unwrapping 300 individual cubes. UGH! 9) Only melt the 14 oz at a time in the microwave. 1 minute, stir well, then 30 second - stir well intervals. 10) I used my pampered chef 8 cup measuring bowl. It was great. 11) Spray the waxpaper with cooking oil. Recipe was very yummy with cameo apples, but the directions were lacking! Have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My first time making caramel apples so I thought I'd try this recipe. It didn't work out for me liked I hoped. Actually I was very disappointed. I started off thinking they were going to to be awesome - ha. I cooked carmel 2 minutes let cool a bit and started dipping. After a short period there was a pool of caramel under the apple. After more time passed there was a bigger pool. Then even later the pool also had the toppings I rolled in it as well. Don't know for sure why it didn't work. I placed the apples in the frig for a couple hours before dipping after I dipped in hot water and dried to get the wax off. Our local candy store does not place their apples in the frig before. They are at room temp so the caramel is smooth and bubbles don't appear (which happened to me). The temp of their caramel is over 230 degrees. I won't give up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was delicious and will definitely be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX-Marine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Turned out perfect...just like it was written! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLPATTERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used caramel bits to save me the time of having to unwrap all of the caramel. It is so much easier. I have made caramel apples once in the past, and I remember not enjoying it very much. I didn't enjoy it very much this time either. The rolling in the caramel was easy, but getting the topping to stick is another story. I tried rolling in the toppings, but it just became a sticky, gooey mess in the pan. Then I tried pressing the toppings onto the apple, and it became a sticky, gooey mess on my hands. In the end, they didn't turn out looking as I had pictured in my head, but they taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States