Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My first time making caramel apples so I thought I'd try this recipe. It didn't work out for me liked I hoped. Actually I was very disappointed. I started off thinking they were going to to be awesome - ha. I cooked carmel 2 minutes let cool a bit and started dipping. After a short period there was a pool of caramel under the apple. After more time passed there was a bigger pool. Then even later the pool also had the toppings I rolled in it as well. Don't know for sure why it didn't work. I placed the apples in the frig for a couple hours before dipping after I dipped in hot water and dried to get the wax off. Our local candy store does not place their apples in the frig before. They are at room temp so the caramel is smooth and bubbles don't appear (which happened to me). The temp of their caramel is over 230 degrees. I won't give up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was delicious and will definitely be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX-Marine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Turned out perfect...just like it was written! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLPATTERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used caramel bits to save me the time of having to unwrap all of the caramel. It is so much easier. I have made caramel apples once in the past, and I remember not enjoying it very much. I didn't enjoy it very much this time either. The rolling in the caramel was easy, but getting the topping to stick is another story. I tried rolling in the toppings, but it just became a sticky, gooey mess in the pan. Then I tried pressing the toppings onto the apple, and it became a sticky, gooey mess on my hands. In the end, they didn't turn out looking as I had pictured in my head, but they taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Perfect ratio of milk to caramels, producing just the right consistency for dipping! I melted my caramels for two minutes as directed, then let the caramel sit for a couple of minutes before dipping. Letting the hot caramel cool briefly, along with washing the apples thoroughly to get the wax off, worked perfectly. I rolled one apple in crushed Oreos, one in chopped Butterfinger candy, and one in chopped pretzels, and the toppings stuck nicely. Very pleased, as will be my husband when he gets home from work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was the first time I had ever made caramel apples. I decided to make a small batch (about 8) before a big party to see if I would run into any troubles. No troubles at all. These were simple and perfect. I rolled my apples in boiling water for a few seconds and dried as some people recommended. Then I stuck them in the refrigerator overnight. The caramel took 3 minutes rather than 2 but it may have been my microwave. I used sprinkles and pecans at the base for something special. Everyone loved them. I think I may try some chocolate next time! Thanks for the recipe. I will use it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Anthony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
The caramel was super gooey and took forever to harden. Still delicious, just way messier and not as pretty as I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great basic caramel recipe. I wanted to try my hand at making caramel apple slices, and while they turned out okay, they were a mess to make and didn't keep. I drizzled mine with some melted semi-sweet chips. Doesn't get any better and easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
My daughter and I made these for the 1st time tonight and they turned out well. We washed and dried the apples, chilled them, and used sturdy plastic forks for handles. We used a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup to melt the caramels in and allowed it to set for 5 minutes before dipping the apples. They aren't beautiful but they aren't horrible either. With a little practice they would be pretty in addition to yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Max2062

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made this recipe this past weekend and I thought it was going to be a huge production. I couldn't believe how quick and easy it was to make these and how much better they taste than store bought ones. I put my apples in the freezer for about 15 min before I put the caramel on them and also let the caramel cool off to thicken for 3 min. I rolled mine in peanuts and they came out tasting great and looking professional! Just started a new yearly tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIANNA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States