Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Persis
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was the first time I've ever made Caramel Apples and I loved it! So easy it's rediculous. I noticed that unsprayed apples without a wax coating work best. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Persis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
My 10yo and I had a blast making several batches of caramel apples. But, I'm glad I read the reviews. There are a few elements of the recipe which are important to note. 1) Don't buy expensive caramel from the German company. Get the cheaper stuff from the company who also sells the blue box of mac & cheese. It melts best. Plus, the German stuff slowly falls down the apple sides. 2) Boil water to quickly remove wax from the apples, then wash them with soap and dry with paper towels. 3) While waiting for the caramel to melt, store apples in the fridge. 4) Be sure to wait for the caramel to cool (and thicken) a bit before rolling the apples. 5) Even if you use wax paper on the cookie sheet, ALSO use non-stick spray. The caramel will stick to the wax paper. It was a real hardship to eat the "mess ups". :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Let me start by saying, if I was a pro at making caramel apples, I wouldn't be trying this recipe, obviously, with that being said let me say that there are many things missing in the instructions here. The caramel completely ran off my apples, the caramel was too runny, the apples need to be thoroughly wiped to ensure there is NO moisture, even let them sit for about 20 minutes before you coat to really ensure there is no moisture. I'll never make these again. Guess I better find a quick recipe to substitute in my Valentine's tins. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made these at Halloween, turned out great, we really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie7

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Had a hard time with these. Tasted really good, but it just made a mess, and the caramel ended up just oozing off the apples, so I ended up throwing away what we didn't eat immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I believe the key to getting the caramel to stick to the apple is the consistency of the caramel. It should be thick and goopy. I used a very small saucepan on the stove top so that I could easily control the consistency of my caramel. Don't be afraid to let it get pretty thick. If it's too thick, just turn the heat up. I rolled my apple around in the saucepan and got it really well coated, then I would hold it up above the pan and spin the apple around and up and down to even out the caramel. I spun it around for a long time, allowing the caramel to cool and set before I placed it on the wax paper. Tasted and looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very fun to make! I melted my caramels in my crockpot (very easy for dipping). I kept the apples in the frigde until I was ready to dip them and I had very little drippings. My son had fun with the sprinkles however they did not want to stick to the caramel. I even had him sprinkle them right after I dipped them and the sprinkles stil didn't stick. I sprayed wax paper with cooking oil and put the apples back in the fridge. When the apples were done I pulled them off the wax paper and they did not stick at all. I can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was quite easy to do. I washed the apples in very hot water to make sure there was no waxy coating on the apples. The recipe doesn't explain to wait a few minutes, or so after microwaving the caramel, to start dipping. If it is too hot, it will begin to slide down, especially if the apples are rolled in some chopped peanuts. I put them on a parchment lined sheet. They had to be refridgerated at least three hours to be set. I thought the caramel coating was rather thick, for my taste, so I would shake off the excess very well. However, the actual apples were tons fresher than the pre-made caramel apples at the grocery store. The apples made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Easy, fast and tasty! I followed the advice of other raters, rolling the waxy apples in boiling water, wiping them down, putting the Popsicle sticks in them, then putting them in the freezer for 15 minutes. I microwaved the caramel and milk for 2 minutes and waited 5 minutes before rolling the apples in it. I found that if you keep spinning the apple over top the dish, after applying caramel, the caramel will, instead of dripping off, roll back over itself and harden as it cools. Do this before rolling in chocolate chips, or the chocolate will melt! I also buttered small squares of wax paper to set the apples on in the fridge, this worked out great! I'm the WORST cook in the world, so if I can do this, anybody can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This is really great with Granny Smith apples and dipped in Red Hots candies on the bottom of the apple! The best combo I have found :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States