Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very fun to make! I melted my caramels in my crockpot (very easy for dipping). I kept the apples in the frigde until I was ready to dip them and I had very little drippings. My son had fun with the sprinkles however they did not want to stick to the caramel. I even had him sprinkle them right after I dipped them and the sprinkles stil didn't stick. I sprayed wax paper with cooking oil and put the apples back in the fridge. When the apples were done I pulled them off the wax paper and they did not stick at all. I can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was quite easy to do. I washed the apples in very hot water to make sure there was no waxy coating on the apples. The recipe doesn't explain to wait a few minutes, or so after microwaving the caramel, to start dipping. If it is too hot, it will begin to slide down, especially if the apples are rolled in some chopped peanuts. I put them on a parchment lined sheet. They had to be refridgerated at least three hours to be set. I thought the caramel coating was rather thick, for my taste, so I would shake off the excess very well. However, the actual apples were tons fresher than the pre-made caramel apples at the grocery store. The apples made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Easy, fast and tasty! I followed the advice of other raters, rolling the waxy apples in boiling water, wiping them down, putting the Popsicle sticks in them, then putting them in the freezer for 15 minutes. I microwaved the caramel and milk for 2 minutes and waited 5 minutes before rolling the apples in it. I found that if you keep spinning the apple over top the dish, after applying caramel, the caramel will, instead of dripping off, roll back over itself and harden as it cools. Do this before rolling in chocolate chips, or the chocolate will melt! I also buttered small squares of wax paper to set the apples on in the fridge, this worked out great! I'm the WORST cook in the world, so if I can do this, anybody can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This is really great with Granny Smith apples and dipped in Red Hots candies on the bottom of the apple! The best combo I have found :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is a great way to make caramel apples. Might I suggest a gummy worm wrapped around hte base of the stick. Looks so cute and great for halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
very good for kids to snak on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very easy to make and delicious! Will definitely be making these again! Easter maybe? Thanks to everyone for their helpful reviews too. I put the apples in the freezer for about 15 minutes before making them. Also put the apples in boiling water for a few seconds to take all the wax off before putting them in the freezer. Used my measuring cup to melt the caramel chews and milk in and used chopped sticks I take from Chinese fast food places for the sticks. After dipping them in caramel and adding nuts to them (big bag of chopped nut topping at Smart & Final for less than $3) I placed them on buttered wax paper and put them in the fridge. No problem taking them off at all. Chopped them into bite-sized pieces for easy eating for my 3-year old (and me). A KEEPER for sure!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
makes a great April fools trick using onions!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Star rating is earned due to easy of preparing and tastiness! This recipe is exactly what my son envisioned for his church treats (and what I recalled making in my youth). The recipe was easy for 8-year old hands to make and a treat for children and adults alike to eat. Thanks for submitting the recipe, Suzie, and to all the reviewers for their feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States