Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
These were perfect! It made exactly 6 apples with very little caramel left over. Like a few of the other reviewers, I put my apples in the freezer before dipping so the caramel would set up. My son and I buttered small squares of waxed paper for easy removal. There was very little mess. If you want to put candy sprinkles or any other extras on them, do it immediately as the cold apples help the caramel set up very quickly. This is so easy, my kids could easily do this from start to finish with no help from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Thompson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Easy to make. Delicious to eat! That's what I call a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
It couldn't be an easier recipe to make or more tasty. I used organic Granny Smith apples and found that they had absolutely no wax on them so they took the caramel beautifully! Fun to make and more fun to decorate and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
So good! I boiled the apples too long... I used a teacup to warm the caramels...it was perfect for only doing 2 apples. I saw a few reviews that used Oreo cookie crumbs...yummy!!! This was the BEST apple ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Easy recipe. I used a stove and a double boiler - try it! I found that it made the process a lot less messy and the caramel didn't burn or stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Persis
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was the first time I've ever made Caramel Apples and I loved it! So easy it's rediculous. I noticed that unsprayed apples without a wax coating work best. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Persis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
My 10yo and I had a blast making several batches of caramel apples. But, I'm glad I read the reviews. There are a few elements of the recipe which are important to note. 1) Don't buy expensive caramel from the German company. Get the cheaper stuff from the company who also sells the blue box of mac & cheese. It melts best. Plus, the German stuff slowly falls down the apple sides. 2) Boil water to quickly remove wax from the apples, then wash them with soap and dry with paper towels. 3) While waiting for the caramel to melt, store apples in the fridge. 4) Be sure to wait for the caramel to cool (and thicken) a bit before rolling the apples. 5) Even if you use wax paper on the cookie sheet, ALSO use non-stick spray. The caramel will stick to the wax paper. It was a real hardship to eat the "mess ups". :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Let me start by saying, if I was a pro at making caramel apples, I wouldn't be trying this recipe, obviously, with that being said let me say that there are many things missing in the instructions here. The caramel completely ran off my apples, the caramel was too runny, the apples need to be thoroughly wiped to ensure there is NO moisture, even let them sit for about 20 minutes before you coat to really ensure there is no moisture. I'll never make these again. Guess I better find a quick recipe to substitute in my Valentine's tins. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made these at Halloween, turned out great, we really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie7

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Had a hard time with these. Tasted really good, but it just made a mess, and the caramel ended up just oozing off the apples, so I ended up throwing away what we didn't eat immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States