Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
my family loves them!!!!!! good with m&ms on them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is my first official review on allrecipes : ) Great recipe! I actually melted the caramels and milk in a double broiler then removed from heat, stirring until my caramel cooled a little. Working very quickly, I cover the apples (5 small apples) with the yummy caramel. I placed them on a greased cookie sheet and WA-LA! Perfect apples like the ones I get at D!sney :) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Excellent classic recipe. I make some with plain caramel and then I coat in milk chocolate and then they become "gourmet caramel apples."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
YUMMY!!! My caramel seemed a little thick, but maybe it cooled too much before I put it on. I coated a couple of the apples in chopped almonds, and they were they hit!!! Make sure your apples are cool, that helps the caramel set up and not run all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made this recipe twice. The first time I barely had enough carmel to cover 5 medium size apples. The second time I had too much. The first batch I made I let the carmel cool off a bit before I started covering the apples too. The second time I started it after I got the carmel out and mixed well. Either way - they came out great. I can't wait to try some of the suggestions for "decorating" them after coating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlecooker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These apples were good but when I did as others suggested and dipped boiling water to remove the wax, the skins turned a brownish color and separated from the apple. It was okay for our own eating pleasure but I wouldn't give it as a gift. It did keep the caramel from sliding from the apple though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I must be caramel apple challenged. I microwaved the caramels for 2 minutes and stirred, stirred, stirred, but there will still chunks. I put it back in for 30 more seconds and there will STILL chunks/strings of caramel. I hoped they would melt as the mix sat, so I went ahead and dipped the COLD apples. I then dipped them in chopped peanuts. As I placed them on the greased cookie sheet, the vast majority of the caramel proceeded to run directly off the apples and onto the pan. I got scared so I placed them right into the fridge again. It was a complete disaster. They tasted great, but they definately did not come out the way they were supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My whole family came over on Halloween night & made these after trick or treating. They loved it, even the grandkids. We had to double the recipe. We didn't change anything & they came out great. We did put them in the frig. for awhile to get hard, but that's all. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Indiana, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I doubled the recipe and attempted to make 12 caramel apples, but failed miserably, however, all is not lost b/c I've discovered a few tricks (2 turned out good). 1. Dip apples in boiling water for a few seconds, then rub off the melted wax (this helps the caramel stick) 2. Use small apples 3. Let the apples cool a bit in the freezer before dipping them in caramel. 3. Make sure apples are DRY 4. After dipping in caramel, hold it up right for a while until the caramel has cooled slightly. 5. If the caramel still drips after a bit, you're caramel was too hot. Well, I'll try again next year and I know they'll turn out better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States