Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
If you like a gooey, sticky caramel apple, this one is for you. Most reviews mention the caramel is too runny. I made sure to use 14oz of caramel as most bags are just under the 14oz mark. I also used cream instead of milk hoping that would help it set up. I made sure to wash the wax coating off of the apple before dipping, then rolled the base of the dipped apple in nuts to collect any caramel that would roll down so I wouldn't lose one ounce of caramel. The outside formed a gloss coating so fast that I couldn’t get any sprinkles to stick, yet the caramel itself was still gooey and didn’t was to set. Putting them in the fridge helped tremendously, but in the evenings I would sat one out for a snack and as soon as the outside hit room temperature, it turned back into a gooey caramel and would slide down the apple. They are good, quick ‘n easy and about what I would expect from packaged caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
it was really runny. Followed the directions as written. They tasted good and looked good, but they only looked good for the first 30 minutes. We were able to use the leftover as a caramel dip - which was a lot neater. Just put in a bowl with chopped up apples next to it. Maybe a little less milk? I'm not sure, but
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I love this recipie! I tried it for a family event, and everyone had doubted me when I said it got great reviews. The apples turned out a million times better than I had expected. I didn't change anything to the recipie(even though there were some great suggestions) and loved that the caramel smoothed itself out while IT cooled. Will definitely use this recipie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Just finished making a batch of these! Make sure you refrigerate the apples after you have coated them with carmel! If you don't the carmel will run off the apple in some places. Overall I love the taste and how fast/easy they were to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly as written. I found that the caramel was very sticky and that it required more candies than originally posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamou, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Eunice, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
It's very useful and helpful, something I might use if I have limited time, but it's not really what I'm looking for. Sorry. Nice job though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
My opinion doesn't reflect this specific recipe (although I did follow it - but they are all the same) but I'll never go through all the work of making caramel apples again. I followed all the directions and tips from reviewers, melted the caramels, let it cool a little, washed and scrubbed the wax off the apples, let them dry, put them in the freezer for 15 min, sprayed the wax paper, set them in the fridge afterward, everything little thing to make them work out., the caramel set up pretty well and I thought yay, all the naysayers were wrong. BUT it all slid off through the night, taking the coatings with it, and ended up as puddles on the wax paper. Just buy the caramel apples, or serve the caramel warm on the side, but don't bother making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Love this! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
WONDERFUL RECIPE!! I NEEDED TO BRING A TREAT TO A HALLOWEEN PARTY AND THESE FIT THE BILL!! SO EASY A BIT MESSY LOL BUT FUN TO MAKE! I DECORATED THEM WITH CHOCOLATE AND HALLOWEEN SPRINKLES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I alway use this recipe and have to make Caramel Apples every year. You will have more success if you follow the tips and tricks of reviewers. Happy Eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States