Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Love them apples! I kept the washed apples overnight in the fridge to get them nice and cold. After rolling in the caramel, I dipped my apples in toasted pecans. The nuts stopped the caramel from pooling on the wax paper and they presented BEAUTIFULLY! No fuss to get them off the paper either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These directions, similar to those found on the back of a package of caramels, always overcook them in my microwave. We have a 1100 watt microwave, and 2 minutes at high power heats the caramel to the soft crack stage, way too hot. If you have a powerful microwave, put it at 50% power and run it for a minute, then stir, evaluate, and put on for another 30-45 seconds if necessary at 50% power. I like mine with shredded pecans on top of the caramel. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Easy!!! and very yummy! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I've never done these before. So good, and pretty easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is how I have made my caramel apples for years!! Simple and soooo tasty! You can roll them in so many good things! Drizzled chocolate! yum- I set mine in fridge- Make sure your apples are good and dry after washing or your caramel won't stick- Thanks for posting the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
We first tried the recipe on the back of Kraft Caramels. That recipe made them so hard they just about broke the children's teeth! This recipe made soft, creamy caramel apples, very edible and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
my family loves them!!!!!! good with m&ms on them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is my first official review on allrecipes : ) Great recipe! I actually melted the caramels and milk in a double broiler then removed from heat, stirring until my caramel cooled a little. Working very quickly, I cover the apples (5 small apples) with the yummy caramel. I placed them on a greased cookie sheet and WA-LA! Perfect apples like the ones I get at D!sney :) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Excellent classic recipe. I make some with plain caramel and then I coat in milk chocolate and then they become "gourmet caramel apples."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
YUMMY!!! My caramel seemed a little thick, but maybe it cooled too much before I put it on. I coated a couple of the apples in chopped almonds, and they were they hit!!! Make sure your apples are cool, that helps the caramel set up and not run all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States