Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Simple enough to make - read previous reviews and made my own tweeks. Not something to brag about - but a good, simple caramel apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I've made this pie 3 times now and everyone has raved about it every single time! The only thing I did different from the recipe, like many others did, I increased the 3 tbsp of flour to 6 tbsp and used 6 apples instead of 5. At the rate of requests I'm getting, I will be making this pie MANY more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was the first pie I have ever made. It was a BIG hit on fourth of July. Next time I will make 2, there wasn't enough to go around!! I did quarter the caramels and my total cooking time was about 1 hour and 10 minutes. Super sweet, so be ready for a sugar rush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Jaehnel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I only put half the taffy on the bottom, just right for sweet and sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
So far I have made this twice and it's been wonderful BOTH times. The 1st time I made it I followed the recipe to a T and unfortunately the caramel didn't melt so we ended up having chunks of caramels in our pie. The 2nd time I 1/4 the caramel and cooked the pie for an additional 10 minutes being careful not to burn the crust and still there were chunks. Don't know what i'm doing wrong but I think i'll 1/2 the caramel next time. Wonderful recipe, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was good, but not quite what I was expecting. It tasted very similar to our traditional apple pie, even with the caramel. Not sure I would make it again, even though it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashcheekz
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I love love love this recipe. I made a smaller pie without so much apples and stuff in it since it was just me and my man eating thanksgiving alone. It turned out wonderful and didn't have a problem with it overflowing with caramel. I loved it and will make again very very very soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashcheekz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
The bottom crust didn't cook all the way through, even though I cooked it longer than suggested. Next time, I will follow my own tried-and-true recipe that is MUCH BETTER! So much for trying something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I was making this pie for my family because we went apple picking. I do not like apple pie. HOWEVER, this recipes changed my mind. It was so good that I ate almost all of it myself. It was my first apple pie and I will never use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Delish! I am a fan! The caramels provide some extra yumminess to the traditional apple pie. To save time, I used a Marie Callendar's ready made defrosted pie crust and a streusel topping. The streusel topping I used was: 3/4 c flour, 1/2 t. cinammon, 1/2 c brown sugar, 3/4 c oats (cut in 1/2 c butter till crumbly). I also used 3 granny smith apples & 3 jonathan apples per another reviewer and it was great! My pie needed 1 hour & 10 min. to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States