Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this pie for Thanksgiving this year and it didn't turn out very well. It tasted great, but after taking it out of the oven it pretty much looked like a soupy mess. The caramels also didn't melt even though I halved them all. I followed the directions, but the granny smith apples I used must have been too fresh. If I make this again I will use a different type of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parasite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Delicious! I used granny smith apples and a pie crust recipe from this website. I did not alter the recipe at all. Make sure you peel the apples (it doesn't say so in the recipe). This is a keeper. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was just too sweet for my family's liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Mmmmm, I love this apple pie. I love apple pie in general, but this one is the best one I have had the pleasure of making. I made a few adjustments, I added apple pie spice and I didn't skin the apples, but everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delicious, Delicious, Delicious!! I normally detest apple pie but after making this - I love apple pie! What I did differently: 1. Instead of using caramel candy I used Smuckers brand fat free caramel topping, I drizzled it between two layers of the apples. 2. I used store brand 'just roll out and bake' pie crusts. 3. I brushed the crust and top of pie with slightly beaten egg. 4. Completely avoided using foil and came out with a nicely golden and crispy dough. Note: I crumbled the 'taffy mixture' between layers of apples I will definitely be making more of these pies during Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sun1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hercules, California, USA
Living In: San Pablo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was the first pie I've ever made so I carefully read through most reviews. I did make some changes, I cut the sugar content to 1/3 cup instead of 2/3. I added 4 Tablespoons of flour instead of 3. I bought the caramel in the container instead of the squares. I used 6 cups of apples instead of 5. I also precooked the apples with the sugar to soften before following the rest of the recipe. This pie looked beautiful, but it's very rich!! I am not a sweet tooth by any means, however my husband is and we both agreed that using only granny smith apples is not the way to go, it made the pie a little tart. So maybe mixing up different kinds of apples along with granny smith might be better next time. I don't think it's b/c I cut the sugar, the tartness was tasted as we bit into the apple pieces. Also, I drizzled the caramel over the apples, next time I will make sure the pie is covered with a thin layer of caramel, so we could taste more of it. I used this recipe with another recipe called "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust"...it was awesome!!!! I also used the Struessel Pie Topping someone else posted about, very good! Next time I will try a regular crust top for this pie, only adding different apples and more caramel! I also had to cook it all for 1 hour and 10 minutes. Great recipe and a very rich pie, I just wish I had different apples in it, it would have been PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Outstanding pie. My husband said this is the best apple pie he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Penner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is one of the best apple pies that I have ever tried. I only used 10 caramels and 4 TBSP of flour in the taffy mixture. It had perfect consistency. The only thing that I might change for next time is to decrease the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was AWESOME! I made 3 in one weekend cause I wanted all my friends to try it! I tried it with both regular caramels and also the caramel dip. Both tasted great but the dip was smoother...especially after it was refrigerated. I have made with a crumb topping too and it was also delish!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie1981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewee Valley, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe! Best apple pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States