Caramel Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Fabulous! Wonderfully sweet and tasty. The filling has a great texture. I think the corn starch works much better than flour as a thickening agent. I subbed 1/4 c of the white sugar for brown sugar and used homemade caramel instead of ice cream topping. I used my grandmother's recipe for pie crust. This pie was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This pie was delicious! I liked the idea of using caramel instead of butter or margarine for the sauce. It gives it a sweeter taste instead of a butter taste. My husband said this was the best apple pie that he ever had. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This apple pie is delicious. I substituted the corn starch with flour and used Crisco shortening double pie crust recipe and it came out delicious. Thank you for such a wonderful apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G. White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Super easy and everyone LOVED it! Will be my go to apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookToEat
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Nice pie, was fun to make and tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookToEat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I won 1st place at the apple pie bake-off using this recipe, with just a few minor alterations. I followed the advice to increase the cornstarch. I also increased the cinnamon to 1tsp, and used cajeta, which is a mexican caramel and a little richer tasting. Otherwise, I followed the directions and it came out fantastic. Everyone raved and I beat out the other pies by over 100 points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
It was OK, seemed kind of bland though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I made this for the people I work with and Wow What a hit it was I became a prize winning baker instantly. I look forward to this fall when the apples come fresh from the trees and I will be making this to freeze for winter Thankyou for posting this Fun ,yummy Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.M.B.D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loves to bake
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! I used a butterscotch caramel topping b/c it was all I could find, and it turned out great! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves to bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The only reason I didn't give this one a 5 is because it turned out a little on the soupy side. The overall taste was amazing. I did add a little more cinnamon than called for and about a tsp or so of all spice. We topped it with a scoop of french vanilla ice cream and it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States