Caramel Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
yummmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie0129

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. Then Christmas. Then a few weeks later "just because." This pie is amazing, and addictive, especially when made with a crust from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I tried this as something new for my son on his birthday. He loves apples. It was a huge hit! Friends started asking me for this for their birthdays too! I followed the recipe except I used more caramel topping. My choice of apples were Golden Delicious and Fuji. It came out sweet and the apples weren't mushy. I will definitely be making this one again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Stockton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I couldn't really taste the caramel so this was more of a plain apple pie, but it was still really good. I made my own caramel sauce by bringing a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of half and half, 2 tablespoon of butter, a pinch of salt, and a dash of vanilla to a boil. In the apple filling I cut down the sugar to a 1/2 cup and used 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice instead of the 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to give the pie a stonger spice flavor. I didn't use the pecans and I brushed the top crust with milk before putting it in the oven. I did find the pie a little on the runny side and it made the bottom crust really soggy, so next time I would add 1 more tablespoon of cornstarch. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I like pie sweet. The carmel almost over powered the apples, you couldn't really taste the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This pie is excellent, I have made it with and without the pecans and it is great either way! Thsi recipe is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I wish I had read the reviews before baking this pie. It was runny. I should of added more cornstarch and maybe less carmel. But then, it would not have the carmel flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Wow. First of all, let me start by saying that i do not like fruit pies or cobbler...something about the idea of cooked fruit makes my skin crawl. Buuuuuuut, I figured that it wouldn't hurt to have an apple pie recipe under my belt just in case. I stumbled across this recipe and thought I'd give it a go; am I glad I did! It was excellent, even to a non-apple-pie-eater like myself. I made it last Saturday, took it to my grandmother's house Sunday, and by Monday it no longer existed. I made very few, minimal changes: in addition to the white sugar, I added 3 TBS of brown. I put more caramel than the recipe called for, and next time I will put even more (I love caramel!). Based on other reviews, I added a couple of extra tablespoons of cornstarch, especially because my caramel was runny. I waited until it was cooled to cut it and the consistency was perfect. The pecans were also a great touch! All in all, a fantastic recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I needed to use up some red delicious apples that were about to go soft. I wasn't sure how this would turn out since the apples were already mealy, but cooking them in this pie totally salvaged them. Somehow in the pie they seemed crisp. I only had about half the quantity of needed apples so it turned out like a tart but with the nuts and the drizzle of caramel, that worked out just fine as an alternative to a heaping apple pie. I used walnuts in place of pecans because that is what I had on hand. I thought the pie was a perfect balance between sweet and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
It was So Good, but not I am going to die becouse I found the best pie in the world good. It did get a bit runny, but the flavor was great. I took the advice of other people's comments and put on a crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States