Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
A very good pie, I liked it. However, I used a store-bought crust (Wegmans), and this did not work out so well. In my opinion, the crust was too soft and not flaky enough, maybe a bit too thin. I am sure if I had made the crust myself from scratch, I could have given the pie five stars. I used more caramel sauce (about twice as much as the recipe calls for), as others suggested, and it came out very sweet. I used Macintosh apples (7 smaller ones), and piled the filling in a big heap, knowing it would cook down and result in a nice pie. I put a lattice crust on top, allowing some of the liquid from the apples to evaporate. My suggestion is if you like your pie really sweet, make it as the recipe says. If you like it less sweet, reduce the sugar, or even leave out the 1/2 cup and double the caramel sauce. I also used 3 Tbsp corn starch, and the pie was a bit runny as long as it was hot, so I drained about 2 Tbsp of liquid, and when it had cooled down, it was just the right amount. Don't drain all the liquid, as this will result in a dry filling. I am sure I'll make the pie again, but use a different crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This turned out much better then expected,even my wife liked it. Followed reciepe as written and was easy, I have to admit that I still need more practice making pies from scratch, this one will be one I practice with often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
very good and easy, added more caramel of course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great caramel apple flavor but it could have came out a little less runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe is amazing!! I made this as my first homemade pie. And i made it for thanksgiving!! Instead of using the prepared caramel sauce from the recipe, I used caramel apple dip from the deli. Absolutely fantastic. It was such a hit that Im making two more today. Also I did an eggwash over the top which made it really look great and gave it a delicious top crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
So perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is by far THE best apple I have ever tasted!!!! Aside from its easy recipe, this my first pie and it was a number one hit. I have never seen a whole pie be eaten in one afternoon like this. I will bake this for every family and friend get together from now on. A scope of vanilla ice cream and this pie is a piece of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbynum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toccopola, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is fantastic and so yummy good. I used sugar free syrup and added craisins and chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
So yummy and so easy to make. I used 3T of corn starch and vanilla instead of rum extract. Not too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My new go to apple pie recipe. I used vanilla instead of rum. I also used 3 tablespoons of cornstarch and two pie crusts. The only problem was I only got one piece. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kersey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States