Caramel Apple Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was definitely the hit of my party. I sliced all but 3 small apples of a 3 lb. bag and every apple was gone the the bowl licked clean. I was worried it was going to be too sweet but went ahead and added all the sugar anyway. It was perfect! I wanted to have all the food prep work done hours before the party so to keep the sliced apples from browning I put them in a bowl of about 4 cups of water and 1/4 cup lemon juice and kept them in the fridge. Right before I was ready to serve them I drained them and served them on a large platter with the dip in the middle. The last apple was as white as when I first served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Scrumptious! I love caramel apples but they can be a little hard to eat (not something you would serve at a party). SOLUTION: the flavor of this recipe is very close to caramel apples, but it is easy to make and easy to serve to a group. Suggestions: 1. add extra caramels for added caramel flavor. 2. be sure to melt the caramels completely to avoid clumps. 3. submerge apple slices in orange or lemon juice to prevent browning. 4. I prefer to use tart apples, like Granny Smith to balance out the sweetness and enhance the caramel flavor. 5. The dip refrigerates well. Enjoy! A perfect Autumn treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
I've tried the caramel dip with cream cheese/brown sugar/vanilla. Adults love it. Even my 4-year-old son loves this one. The addition of actual caramel makes this a dip nobody can resist. Brought it to a party last night. People were trying it with EVERYTHING. Grapes, Brie, apples, bananas . . . Thick, sticky, sumptuous. I didn't put in quite as much water, and added vanilla. Refrigerates well. Thickens a bit, but still very spreadable and dippable. This will be a tradition for our family through the holidays. Teri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREADE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This stuff is AWESOME! And super easy too! I will use it for all my get togethers now. Oh, one thing about the recipe though, it says to serve immediately, so I waited until the last minute to make it. I now know though, that it keeps in the fridge for a day or two just fine, with no change in flavor or consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
This was excellent!! I took it to a party and nobody could stop eating it. People were scooping so much dip that it covered the apple slices! After I made it, I put it in the fridge and served it straight from the fridge. It was still soft and easy to dip into. I added extra caramels, but I don't think that it altered the recipe too much. You will not be disappointed by this recipe, but don't make it is you're trying to cut back on calories! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Fabulous! I used fat free cream cheese, just to cut down a little on fat/calories, and I don't think it affected the taste at all. Took it to a youth group New Year's party and when it was gone I actually caught some of them scraping their fingers around the inside of the bowl to get the scraps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Excellent combination of flavors.Just the thing for dipping apples, graham crackers, bananas! We had some homemade granola bars to dip, yummy. Thanks Lori.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I made this for a reunion and it was a big hit. I, too, used the entire bag of caramels because I am not a big fan of the taste of cream cheese. I followed the recs of prior reviewers and used full fat cream cheese. I served w/granny smith apple slices, Nilla wafers, and chocolate. I used lemon juice to keep the apples from browning. This dip is good at any temp, warm, room, and cold. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Super easy to make, and keeps well too. Head and shoulders above the commercial stuff. People always rave about this dip, and it's perfect for the fresh autumn apples. I add a little vanilla as was recommended by a previous reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I served this at my last dinner party nd what a hit grown-up caramel apples. What a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States