Caramel Apple Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa41100
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These were awesome. Made them yesterday and everyone loved them. The reason I gave them 4 stars instead of 5 is because the caramel topping is really, really chewy. Not what I expected on top of a cupcake. We left the nuts off because the kids won't eat nuts and we left out the stick, but I bet that would be perfect for a party. After sitting all night the caramel on top became runny (not sure why) and it ran off the top and down the sides of the cupcakes. Glad we made them the same day we needed them. Next time I will make a regular caramel icing to put on top, not just caramel mixed with a little bit of evap. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great fall dessert. I tried these out and wasn't crazy about the frosting so I tried them again with Caramel Frosting IV and mixed in some the the caramel frosting that this recipe calls for and it was much better. I also put extra apple in the cake and I liked it better also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niki
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
OMG!!! These cupcakes are AMAZING!!! I couldn't find spice cake mix, so I used yellow mix and put in two medium size apples. After reading some of the other reviews about the frosting, I decided to use vanilla frosting mixed with half cup of caramel dip/topping. It was fantastic!! I'm taking these to work tomorrow for a Halloween party and can't wait to hear what people have to say about them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
These were wonderful! I used 2 medium sized McIntosh apples because they are just so great to bake with. Instead of using the caramels and evaporated milk I just frosted them with caramel frosting. They were amazing! I share a house with a bunch of girls and they were gone in hours. The apples made them so moist. This recipe is perfect for the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I substituted the frosting by just mixing white frosting with caramel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
The cupcake is awesome but the carmel topping gets to hard to eat like a cupcake... next time ill either do a carmel sauce or a frosting with a carmel drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyWV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I used a caramel cake mix and frosted with the Caramel Frosting IV from this site...so good! The next time I make these, I will add more apple for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These sound cute...haven't made them yet...I give them 4 stars for such a clever idea, and I'm sure they are delicious! WHEN YOU MAKE THEM, POST A PICTURE! Wish I could see what they look like on a tray...they must be adorable! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I used this recipe for the cupcake and am making a different frosting. But I was disappointed because the cakes didn't rise. They are pretty dense and small. They only changes I made were that I shredded my apples instead of chopped and used applesauce instead of oil. Flavor is awesome however. Hopefully the flavor will make up for the lack of rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessk930

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The caramel hardened before I could even put the peanuts on top - all the peanuts fell off. In addition, it was hard to take a bite out of the cupcake because of the touch caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States