Caramel-Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Original review April '11: Great quick dessert. Mine took a little longer because I made my own caramel sauce but other than that, I followed the recipe exact. I like to use Granny Smith's in my crisps, I had nine smallish ones that were just enough for this crisp. I did add a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the topping at the last minute. I have a Kitchen Aid that I used for the topping, I just threw the dry ingredients in the mixer bowl, then my cubed cold butter and let my wisk attachment "cut" my butter into the dry ingredients. Absolutely divine, used on hand ingredients, was cheap to make and VERY soul-soothing to make/eat. I highly recommend you try making your own caramel sauce.......it really takes your dessert over the top. Edited 10/11: I've gotten several e-mails on how to make homemade caramel sauce. This is how I do mine. Mix a quarter cup of butter, one cup of brown sugar, half cup heavy cream OR evaporated milk (depending on what you have on hand), and a pinch of salt in a saucepan over medium low heat. Cook until thick, about seven minutes. You can usually tell, it looks caramel-y. Add a tablespoon of vanilla and cook another minute longer to thicken just a touch more. Pour into a bowl and let it cool a bit before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
So easy it should be criminal! Like another reviewer, I made my own caramel sauce, which was also super easy (see below). I bumped the cinnamon to 1t, added a touch of allspice and nutmeg, and 1t vanilla to the apple & caramel mixture. I didn't have quick cooking oats so I just used old-fashioned rolled oats, and they gave a nice texture to the topping. This will be my go-to apple crisp recipe. Thanks so much for sharing! For the caramel sauce: Melt 1/2C butter (1 stick) over medium heat, whisk in 1C brown sugar, then whisk in 1/4C milk. When smooth, bring to boil then remove from heat. Yeah, that's all there is to it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Delicious! This is perfect for when you have a dessert craving and need something that's easy to put together with ingredients you have on hand. I used Granny Smith apples and added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts to the "topping" along with a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg for good measure. This smelled wonderful while baking and tasted even better! And, it was fabulous with vanilla ice cream topped with a bit of whipped cream- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Served warm and topped with butter pecan ice cream and a drizzle of some more caramel is really yummilicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Prepared for the Recipe Group this week. This is very good and my family enjoyed it but it is very sweet! Followed the recipe except increased the servings to 9 to feed my crowd and left the caramel topping at 1/2 cup (it was still a little too sweet for me.) Great contrast of flavors (caramel/apple is one of our favorites) and textures with the crispy topping. I'm sure it will be requested again. Thanks for sharing, Kinza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is so easy to make. I used tart green apples so it was not super sweet. It was perfect served hot and topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Yummy and easy to make! Used granny smiths also added chopped pecans to the strusel topping. Served with vanilla ice cream and more caramel syrup. Next time will make my own caramel!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vividwonder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
this was very tasty as I love caramel and apples together, served it with ice cream. It was a little runny the day I made it, but set up better the following day after it had time to cool. Next time I will add a little more oats and sprinkle the bottom of the pan with the oatmeal to soak up some of the juices. It all depends on the type of apple used in this recipe, since I had many apples from our trees, I used those and they are juicy when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was extremely sweet & watery. Possibly my apples were too juicy? IDK. I'm so sorry, we just didn't care for this particular combo as much as regular apple crisp. It WAS very easy tho :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. Let me start by saying I made my own caramel sauce. Added too much milk, wrote the amounts down wrong from the other review. Although it was tasty! And I didn't realize only 1/2 cup of it went into the crisp LOL! Needless to say I had a lot of juice. The topping went into the food processor, then I hand squished it and spread on top. Delightful taste, and next time, I might get the amounts right! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States