Caramel-Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Served warm and topped with butter pecan ice cream and a drizzle of some more caramel is really yummilicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Original review April '11: Great quick dessert. Mine took a little longer because I made my own caramel sauce but other than that, I followed the recipe exact. I like to use Granny Smith's in my crisps, I had nine smallish ones that were just enough for this crisp. I did add a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the topping at the last minute. I have a Kitchen Aid that I used for the topping, I just threw the dry ingredients in the mixer bowl, then my cubed cold butter and let my wisk attachment "cut" my butter into the dry ingredients. Absolutely divine, used on hand ingredients, was cheap to make and VERY soul-soothing to make/eat. I highly recommend you try making your own caramel sauce.......it really takes your dessert over the top. Edited 10/11: I've gotten several e-mails on how to make homemade caramel sauce. This is how I do mine. Mix a quarter cup of butter, one cup of brown sugar, half cup heavy cream OR evaporated milk (depending on what you have on hand), and a pinch of salt in a saucepan over medium low heat. Cook until thick, about seven minutes. You can usually tell, it looks caramel-y. Add a tablespoon of vanilla and cook another minute longer to thicken just a touch more. Pour into a bowl and let it cool a bit before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Yummy and easy to make! Used granny smiths also added chopped pecans to the strusel topping. Served with vanilla ice cream and more caramel syrup. Next time will make my own caramel!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vividwonder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Delicious! This is perfect for when you have a dessert craving and need something that's easy to put together with ingredients you have on hand. I used Granny Smith apples and added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts to the "topping" along with a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg for good measure. This smelled wonderful while baking and tasted even better! And, it was fabulous with vanilla ice cream topped with a bit of whipped cream- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Best Apple "pie" like dessert...EVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is so easy to make. I used tart green apples so it was not super sweet. It was perfect served hot and topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good. I admit I made a lightened up version of this recipe. It had good flavor, but it is "really sweet!" I did think the taste was closer to an apple pie with a sweet and crunchy topping. This would be good with some vanilla ice cream or a little whipped cream as suggested. I thought it was best, just made, before the apples soaked up too much of the caramel syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
So easy it should be criminal! Like another reviewer, I made my own caramel sauce, which was also super easy (see below). I bumped the cinnamon to 1t, added a touch of allspice and nutmeg, and 1t vanilla to the apple & caramel mixture. I didn't have quick cooking oats so I just used old-fashioned rolled oats, and they gave a nice texture to the topping. This will be my go-to apple crisp recipe. Thanks so much for sharing! For the caramel sauce: Melt 1/2C butter (1 stick) over medium heat, whisk in 1C brown sugar, then whisk in 1/4C milk. When smooth, bring to boil then remove from heat. Yeah, that's all there is to it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I’ve been making the same apple crisp recipe that I love for eons but tried this recipe because it was a Recipe Group selection. This is a delicious and sweet apple dessert that doesn’t disappoint. I made the topping in the food processor for ease and speed, just adding the oats in at the very end and pulsing a few times. The dessert has a wonderful caramel flavor and smells fantastic. I would recommend using Granny Smith apples with this recipe because it is very sweet. Although I still prefer my old standby apple crisp recipe, this was very good and a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by eecaule
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I'm going to first start by saying I didn't follow the directions very well. I forgot to mix the cinnamon with the caramel so I just sprinkled it on top of the apples. Also, I dumped the oats in with the flour, brown sugar and butter instead of mixing it in after. But it still came out really tasty! I used Granny Smith apples like other. Thanks you to DisplacedTexan, another reviewer, for your caramel sauce recipe! I probably ate half an apple dipped in it. Luckily I still had enough for the crisp. This made the kitchen smell wonderful and you can't beat the fact that you only dirty one bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States