Caramel-Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
OMG! We LOVED it! I made it using Sarah Jo's homemade caramel sude recipe (which was so easy and delicious), switched to Granny Smith apples, and accidentally doubled the brown sugar (full cup instead of half cup), and even though it was a bit on the extra-sweet side, it was awesome! Can't add anything other than if you're looking for something easy for dessert for Thanksgiving, or just because, this is an great dish. If you're doubting it, don't! Just go ahead and make it. What could you possibly loose? But there is a lot of taste bud pleasing yum to gain. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook by default
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was a wonderful apple crisp recipe. I did not find it too sweet. I used Kings Cupboard Caramel Sauce (less sweet maybe?) and Granny Smith and Fuji apples, though all granny smiths might have been best. The topping was crunchy around the edges and with dairy whipped cream or warm with vanilla ice cream, it is the best I have found. Thank you! Definitely a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very good and easy to prepare. We really enjoyed it. I used Golden Delicious apples because that is what I had as well as old fashioned oat (not quick cooking) and it came out just fine. Other reviewers thought it was too sweet, but we did not think so. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I thought this would be perfect and flavorful for fall,but I found it bland. I followed the directions as written but think I will stick with the apple crisp that I make that includes the main ingredients of walnuts, raisins, oats, cinnamon, apples and pears. Overall the caramel flavor just did not come through as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Oh my gosh - this is SO good. I used a mixture of half caramel syrup and half thick caramel cream (the kind sold as a spread). I also added a dash of nutmeg, and used an additional two apples. The result was a sublime dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I usually never leave a review or comment on something, however, this deserves a lot of praise. Absolutely amazing and delicious, I made the home-made caramel that Sarah Jo posted along with the exact instructions on this recipe. I didn't think it would turn out this great, but it did. I will be making this again in the near future. I added Whipped Cream and Nutmeg on top of it before it was served and that made it taste even better (if that's even possible!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Great recipe! Made for my family with fresh picked apples from the orchard and it was gone in less than 24hrs. All my family now placing request for Thanksgiving. I did adjust the recipe by adding a pinch of nutmeg to mines. Will definitely make this on a regular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Received rave reviews and several recipe requests. I have one of those nifty gadgets that you crank the handle to core, pare and slice the apples effortlessly so prep for this dish was fast and easy and the results were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Super easy, first apple crisp I have ever made, so I don't have anything to compare it to. I added a little lemon juice and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States