Caramel-Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I really felt that it had far too much flour and would have preferred a more crispy top. It also needed a lot more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
One Word: AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
made it as-is--totally awesome! so easy and as delicious as if I got it in a bakery (and I am not a great baker). My husband LOVES this recipe, and so do I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angie
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was awesome! I used caramel candy squares and melted them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My family loved this easy to make too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I only took a microscopic taste of this myself but I could tell from looking over the recipe it was going to be good - and it was, so says Hubs, who was in 7th Heaven eating it. Other than adding the cinnamon to the topping ingredients rather than stirring it into the caramel sauce, I prepared the recipe as written and was quite happy with it just as it stands. I did, however, scale this down to two servings (two beautiful Granny Smith apples from hotel lobby) and baked it in a couple of smallish ramekin type baking dishes (350 degrees, about 35 minutes). This stuff is awesome good - just the right sweetness, crunch and delicate cinnamon flavor. After all, this is CARAMEL apple crisp, so the caramel taste should prevail. I can find absolutely nothing to criticize about this recipe, nor recommend any changes. Neither can Hubs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is my new go-to recipe for any occasion for which I need a dish to share. It is gobbled-up in no time and gets an incredible number of compliments. I've switched the recipe to use rice flour and gluten-free oats to make it friendly for those who don't eat gluten. I made it gluten-free without telling my husband and some friends until after they ate it, and they still loved it. I actually prefer using the rice flour now - it gives the dish a little different texture than wheat flour. It's crispier with rice flour, I think. Either way, this recipe is sure to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I love how quick and simple this recipe is to make. My family really enjoyed this dessert warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I enjoyed the caramel sauce and the crunchy topping, I don't care for cooked apples, which is why I only tried the caramel and topping. Thanks, Kinza for sharing your recipe. My family thought this was a perfect fall dessert on a crisp-air kind of night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
A little more caramel doesn't hurt at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devon Baumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janjo33
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I cut the recipe down to 1 apple for testing purposes and baked it in two mini ramekins. When grabbing the caramel from the frig, I spied some honey apple butter. I added that in a proportion that would be 1/4 cup for the full recipe. This came out delicious! I'll be making the full recipe in 12 ramekins for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States