Caramel Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Good moist cake. Glaze is wonderful - reminded me of a glazed donut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Used 1c applesauce and 1/2c oil. Otherwise followed recipe as written. It was very thick but I did like the texture of the cake. The outside was very done/brown (and tasted dry) but had to bake till the inside got done. The flavor was okay but would probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
GOOD LORD, THAT'S GOOD!!! Made the changes recommended by others - substituted all but 2T. oil with natural applesauce, 50/50 white/brown sugar, and made a cinnamon sugar (b. sugar) sprinkled over 1/2 batter, topped with remaining half, and cut carmel topping in half. This cake is more like a bread pudding - dense, moist, and sweet. It was a hit with my entire family. I will definitely make again. I have a church picnic coming up and this is what I'm taking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I wasn't impressed with this cake at all. The only advise I took from others was to use apple sauce instead of oil. Watch the baking time. I think I over baked the cake it was a bit dry and be careful pouring the glaze/topping on. The cake seems like a bit of sponge and the flavor of the caramel is strong. Won't make a gain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
We really enjoy this dense coffee cake. The topping keeps me going back for more. I grate the apples. Have made this with and without the pecans. The batter is thick. For me it takes a bit longer than the listed cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I took another reviewer's advice and sprinkled a mixture of sugar and cinnamon halfway thru to create that spicy ribbon as well as adding 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter. I only used 1/2 of the caramel over the top and subbed 1/2 c. applesauce for 1/2 c veg oil. I also used 4 macintosh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Very good. The caramel sauce really made the cake. I did cook the sauce a little longer and added a little bit of cream to it. Thanks to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a pretty good cake. I really liked it but my husband said it was too sweet. Like others suggested--I used 1 c. sugar, 1 c. brown sugar, only needed 2 apples, added the brown sugar/cinnamon ribbon in the middle and added 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter. I agree that the sauce is what makes this cake but it also makes it super sweet. It may be too rich for those that don't like really sweet cakes. Not sure if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I gave it 3 stars for the original recipe. With all the substitutes it would get 5 stars. I for my first time making it followed the recipe exactly and it just idnt have flavor so next time i will add cinnamon, and applesauce. I used walntus and pecans and instead of leaving it a bundt cake i broke it up and crumbled it into a 9X13 pan and drizzled the whole amount of topping over it. At first when it was warm it reminded me of pancakes with maple syrup but when it cool it was better. I will probably make this again but with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States