Caramel Apple Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I was excited to try because it was so freakin' simple and good. Here are my SUPER EASY CHEATS: Use a pre-made Nilla Wafer crust, canned apple pie filling and the pre-made tub of Philly Cheesecake Mix found in your grocery deli section by the cream cheese. Add yummy caramel and chopped nuts to the top (or crushed toffee bits/candy) and let it sit for a few hours. EASY AND YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2002
My impression was that it was pretty good, but there was something about it I didn't care for, although I couldn't put my finger on it. Then my husband tried it and said it was "interesting" (translation: I'm not sure if I care for this or not - which was basically my reaction). He said he loved the apples and caramel part, but the cheesecake part was very bland. It was a fluffy consistency, not a creamy consistency. I think the filling needed more vanilla to help with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I thought this came out really well. I put in a full teaspoon of vanilla after reading other peoples comments, and also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the mix. I made the crust and put 1/4tsp cinnamon in there as well. turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
REALLY REALLY GOOD! I hold an annual Cheesecake Party every year in December, and this was one of this year's samples. Among 11 other cheesecakes, this was voted on by the majority of my family and friends as the favorite of the night. The only change I made was to make my crust out of cinnamon graham crackers,butter, and ground pecans instead of using a store bought one..I think it really enhanced the flavor. The apples on the bottom were a nice surprise mixed in with the cheesecake. This is definatly a make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HELLOILOVEYOUXX
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is the best cheesecake recipe I've followed yet! The cream cheese filling was so smooth and creamy. I made this for Thanksgiving and I'm already getting requests for Christmas. Using "cinnamon & spice" apple pie filling and 1 1/4 teaspoons of vanilla extract (instead of only 1/4 teaspoon), were the only changes I made. This gave it more flavor, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I used this recipe for inspiration but tweaked it a bit using other recipes found on this site. First of all, I used the pie crust recipe for "Healthier Pie Crust". I thought that the oatmeal crust would pair up nicely with the apples. Then I followed the technique used in the "Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake" recipe to make the filling. I spread half of the filling onto the crust. Then I mixed in about 1/2 a can of apple pie filling, some spices, and whipped it with the cream cheese. I was able to blend the apple pieces using my mixer, but you may want to cut them into smaller chunks if they are large. Finally, I spread this layer onto the plain cream cheese layer and baked it. I didn't add any apple filling onto the top because it looked moist enough already, but I did drizzle some caramel over the top before baking. Thanks for the inspriation to experiment with different cheesecake flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I made this for my husbands birthday for something different other then a cake. All we can say is WOW! This is so different and delicious. I read what other people's comments were, I added 2tsps vanilla to the mix instead of just the 1/4tsp I also added cinnamon to the canned apples. Becareful though this is a very RICH desert, but well worth it. Easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnkbug

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Good and easy! Try it with the "sauteed apples" recipe from this site instead of the canned apples..as well as "sauteen peaches" (sub peaches w/same recipe) for a yummy summer cheesecake when peaches are in season (eliminating the caramel topping) and you could sautee chopped pecans with small amount of butter; add cinnamon and brown sugar to go w/peaches. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I just made this for a dorm Thanksgiving luncheon. It wasn't appealing to look at because the top slid off the apples when it was cut into. Once I started getting people to try it, it was gone in minutes!!! My commander even had two pieces:P I don't know if letting it sit overnight would help. I did and it still slid. Definitely going into my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This was good. My husband had a cheesecake like this in a diner and wanted me to try it. I tried it bt added a streusal topping. It was delicious but the recipes says CHILL UNTIL READY TO SERVE, and ours wasn't set enough. I would suggest making it the day before and chilling overnight. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States