Caramel Apple Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I'm not really sure how to rate these. My husband thought that they were okay and honestly he was a little disappointed. I did like them, they reminded me of an apple crisp with carmel. However, prep was ridiculously long due to the caramels. I would recommend buying a caramel sundae sauce and just drizzeling it over the apples, it would make the process a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Delicious and moist! Substituted caramel ice cream topping for unwrapped caramels and had no problem getting topping evenly over apples. I heated the topping in the microwave to make the consistency a little thinner which made it easier to pour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
These were quite good, but they do fall apart a bit when you try to cut them while still warm as the recipe suggests. I melted the caramels on the stovetop in a non-stick saucepan with a tablespoon or two of water added and they came out smooth. Rather than try to "spread" the caramel, I just drizzled it over the top of the apples with a spoon and it worked out fine. The prep time for this is quite a bit longer than 15 minutes though....I'd say at least 30 minutes; baking time is accurate. Be sure to use real butter in the crust...it DOES make a big difference in the taste. We liked these better chilled than fresh out of the oven. Quite addicting though...my husband keeps asking for them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
These bars were a huge success! If you are a carmel apple lover like myself, you will absoltuely love these! Great recipe for fall! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I'd like to preface this by apologizing for this review. I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe verbatim. The chopped apples (I used Granny Smith) were mushy. The flavor was not outstanding. I read such rave reviews, I had to try this. I do not consider myself a gourmet, but would not feel comfortable serving this at a pot luck or bringing it to a church function. The topping was not appealing to the eye, as well. I verified the recipe steps, ingred., measurements, and feel that this review is merited. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is a nice change from regular apple crisp. Very easy to make. I layered caramel apple sheets instead of melting caramels. Saves tons of time unwrapping and melting caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This was so good. I had some difficulty with the caramel topping because it didn't melt to a smooth consistency. A great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I'm not sure about the no fuss issue, but these are good. Now, how to get the bottom crust to be as crisp as the top. These are best eaten warm...oooh that top crust/crumbles. If I make this again I'll use caramel sauce as others suggested, I used stale/hard caramels that I had in my pantry from x-mas & melted with some butter flavored shortening, it was somewhat a pain. Thanks Hot Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Delicious . . . a great way to serve caramel apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Very yummy! They do fall apart a bit when you try to cut them. I will try to refrigerate next time before cutting. I used old fashioned oats instead of instant, only because that's what I had on hand, worked okay though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States