Caramel Apple Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Delicious . . . a great way to serve caramel apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This was so good. I had some difficulty with the caramel topping because it didn't melt to a smooth consistency. A great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
These bars were a huge success! If you are a carmel apple lover like myself, you will absoltuely love these! Great recipe for fall! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Great bar cookie, but I had trouble with it being so moise that it would not stay in a bar form. Wonder if you could use carmel sundae syrup instead of carmels?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Did not meet my expectations. They were OK, but were not worth all the trouble. Prep time was about double (maybe it was just me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Good taste, but too much trouble. I have made these twice & both times have found it impossible to get the caramel evenly placed on top of apples. Ended up with clumps of caramel. If I make again, I may try using chopped unmelted caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Everyone absolutely loved them! I brought them into work and they were gone so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I was disappointed. The idea is great, but the combination of flavors did not come through in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I made these for church and the whole pan disappeared! Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe!! So very yummy! I think that they are best served warm.Just imagine serving vanilla ice cream with this! I used a double boiler to melt my caramels, and it stayed very warm and smooth and poured easily over the mixture. I will most certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
These were quite good, but they do fall apart a bit when you try to cut them while still warm as the recipe suggests. I melted the caramels on the stovetop in a non-stick saucepan with a tablespoon or two of water added and they came out smooth. Rather than try to "spread" the caramel, I just drizzled it over the top of the apples with a spoon and it worked out fine. The prep time for this is quite a bit longer than 15 minutes though....I'd say at least 30 minutes; baking time is accurate. Be sure to use real butter in the crust...it DOES make a big difference in the taste. We liked these better chilled than fresh out of the oven. Quite addicting though...my husband keeps asking for them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States