Caramel Apple Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Oh...my...my...my! These are mighty tasty! I wouldn't call them a cookie, though--more of a "crumble" I'd say. The crust-like part does taste just like an oatmeal cookie, though. We also added chopped pecans for more interesting texture and crunch. Absolutely scrumptious warm with a blob of ice cream. I have never been a fan of cooked apples, but this one is THE exception! Yum...oh YUM! Tooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Delicious and moist! Substituted caramel ice cream topping for unwrapped caramels and had no problem getting topping evenly over apples. I heated the topping in the microwave to make the consistency a little thinner which made it easier to pour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Used caramel ice cream topping instead of melting caramels. Much easier. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Kimball Fitzgerald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonewoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Valle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Basically an apple crumble kicked up with the carmals. If you love carmal apples you will enjoy this. Also, like a crumble, it would be best served warm with vanilla bean ice cream. Very good and quite rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
These are soooo good! I couldn't wait to take them out of the oven; the smell was wonderful. The texture is good, the flavor is excellent, and they disappear really quickly. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a half teaspoon of nutmeg to the flour/oat mixture, so it smelled like I had an apple pie backing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
The caramel bars were great! I did not have wrapped caramels, so I just made a simple sauce. They were really yummy. Next time I think I will add more apples though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
These bars were absolutely delicious! I used two different types of apples. One was tart, tangy & crunchy, and the other was sweet. We will definitely make these again! Thanks! cindyleeh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
These were quite good, but they do fall apart a bit when you try to cut them while still warm as the recipe suggests. I melted the caramels on the stovetop in a non-stick saucepan with a tablespoon or two of water added and they came out smooth. Rather than try to "spread" the caramel, I just drizzled it over the top of the apples with a spoon and it worked out fine. The prep time for this is quite a bit longer than 15 minutes though....I'd say at least 30 minutes; baking time is accurate. Be sure to use real butter in the crust...it DOES make a big difference in the taste. We liked these better chilled than fresh out of the oven. Quite addicting though...my husband keeps asking for them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I made these for church and the whole pan disappeared! Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe!! So very yummy! I think that they are best served warm.Just imagine serving vanilla ice cream with this! I used a double boiler to melt my caramels, and it stayed very warm and smooth and poured easily over the mixture. I will most certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I was disappointed. The idea is great, but the combination of flavors did not come through in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States