Caramel Apple Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I tried this recipe since apples and caramels are my favorite combination. I found that these are way too sweet for me. I think that if I ever make them again I would use a very tart apple and cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Recipe was great. I used a jar of caramel sauce instead of the wrapped candies. I thought this made it much easier. My daughter enjoyed helping me make these bars. We would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Delicious bars, but at least in my case, these took way longer to prepare than the recipe indicated. Does anyone have a better method for melting and especially, POURING the melted caramels? Very difficult to spread, I thought. I did have to bake longer than the reciped said to. Everyone has enjoyed eating them, but I didn't really enjoy making them. I will probably make these again, because they are so good...I'll just be like Henny Penny and recruit help from those who want to eat them, to help me make them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
These bars are a delicious! They are definately something I will be baking again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I'd like to preface this by apologizing for this review. I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe verbatim. The chopped apples (I used Granny Smith) were mushy. The flavor was not outstanding. I read such rave reviews, I had to try this. I do not consider myself a gourmet, but would not feel comfortable serving this at a pot luck or bringing it to a church function. The topping was not appealing to the eye, as well. I verified the recipe steps, ingred., measurements, and feel that this review is merited. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I didn't change a thing in the recipe. It was great on it's own. I did, however, melt the carmels in the microwave per the instructions on the back of the bag of Kraft's carmels. EASY! Good hot or cold!! This is a 5 star keeper!! Thanks Hot Pam!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
These bars are awsome. I have made them three times and each time they were better than the last. They taste best served chilled with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I'm not sure about the no fuss issue, but these are good. Now, how to get the bottom crust to be as crisp as the top. These are best eaten warm...oooh that top crust/crumbles. If I make this again I'll use caramel sauce as others suggested, I used stale/hard caramels that I had in my pantry from x-mas & melted with some butter flavored shortening, it was somewhat a pain. Thanks Hot Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This bar was very tasty---no spices needed, good flavor. I don't consider it a "no fuss" recipe, tho. I scorched two batches of caramel, trying to melt them as directed. On the third try, I resorted to the microwave on low power, stirring & checking frequently.A double boiler is an option as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Oh...my...my...my! These are mighty tasty! I wouldn't call them a cookie, though--more of a "crumble" I'd say. The crust-like part does taste just like an oatmeal cookie, though. We also added chopped pecans for more interesting texture and crunch. Absolutely scrumptious warm with a blob of ice cream. I have never been a fan of cooked apples, but this one is THE exception! Yum...oh YUM! Tooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States