Caramel Apple Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These were very tasty but mine came out very soft and mooshy so they were hard to eat with our fingers. I used a fork. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Awesome!! Definitely worth the trouble of peeling and chopping! I had to add a little milk to the caramels so that they would melt smoothly, but maybe it was because of the brand I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELTROMBONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Delicious and pretty easy to make. I melted the caramels in the microwave. I heated them for 20-30 seconds at a time, stirring in between and watching to make sure they didn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Followed recipe, using old-fashioned oats (what I had on hand)...tossed apples with generous amount of cinnamon and a bit of nutmeg. Prebaked the bottom crust for several minutes. Used 1 package Krafts caramel bits melted in microwave with 1-2 T. milk. Drizzled over the apples without a problem. Added toasted pecans to the top layer. After the pan was out of the oven for awhile, I started to make cuts, and once it was room-temp. I had no trouble cutting into bars. Served with vanilla ice cream and extra sprinkle of cinnamon. All in all yum! May want a bit more caramel next time for extra decadence...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
A TOP FLAVORY HEALTHY SNACK FOR KIDS IN SCHOOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was waaay too sweet for me & I had to throw the whole thing out - my son couldn't even eat it. I cut back on the sugar but it was still too much. Thank you for sharing, but I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSmithRN04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is simple and delicious. Reduce the salt and serve at room temperature. A new fall treat for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Made this for a Halloween party, and it went over great! Didn't have vanilla available, but it didn't seem to affect the recipe that much. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
These bars were a big hit at my house. I put the bottom crust in the oven to bake while I melted the caramels so that it wouldn't get soggy and it worked great. But I think next time I will try the caramel topping that others suggested becuase it's a pain to unwrap and melt all those caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Maine, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These bars were delicious but a real pain to make! I had to use double the caramel that the recipe called for because the caramel hardened so quickly that I couldn't get it to spread across the apples. They also did not stay in bar form very well, but it tasted great over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States