Caramel Apple Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Fantastic dessert, I followed instructions, but like others I made a few changes. I added the 1/2t cinnamon also, and I used Golden Delicious apples instead and also used Finely Ground Walnuts and now I am getting request for the recipe or make them for other people to share @ home,etc. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made this and I think it turned out great. I used baking caramel instead of the candy and a can of apple pie filing instead if freshly cored and sliced ones. Caramel was easy to work with since no unwrapping each piece was needed. Made the caramel into salted caramel to add a little kick, not too much salt just a dash. Also only used half of the caramel the recipe called for. Apple filing worked perfect and didn't make the crisp soggy at all. Would work good with a side of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
these are easy to make and so yummy! I cooked the caramel in the microwave - 1 minute to heat it up and then added the flour and cooked it for about 4 more minutes stopping once or twice to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made these nearly the same as written, except I used more apples and skipped mixing the caramel sauce with flour. I just heated the sauce in the microwave and poured it as is over the apples. It still turned out great, and everyone at my birthday party loved them! (We ate them with whipped cream! Yum!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These are delicious, but they didn't hold together well. There's no way there is enough crumb mix to spread over a 15x10 pan, so I did it in a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I love apples, and I love caramel, so I knew this recipe was going to be love at first bite. I would make these again and again if I could handle that amount of butter on a regular basis. These bars are wonderful. One change, or addition that I did make, was to add a sprinkle of cinnamon into the oat mixture. Not necessary, but I love cinnamon with apples. The crunchy, buttery topping is the perfect match for the gooey, apple filling. It's a good thing I was making these for a group of people, or I probably would have downed the dish myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These wonderful bars are an absolute hit with my son and his college buddies! They're great with or without the nuts. I cut back on some of the brown sugar and have found that the tartness of Granny Smith apples balances nicely with the sweet crust and caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is not a good recipe at all. For start, you need WAY more apples than called for. Secondly, the caramel is extremely difficult to spread over the apples. And finally, it didn't even taste that good at all. I wouldn't recommend this recipe to anyone. It was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
These turned out awesome!!! They were a huge hit. The layers melted together very well, will absolutely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were very good. I made some changes as some reviewers suggested: I sliced 4 Granny Smith's apples and microwaved them with a little water for 5 min to soften them up before placing on crust (don't like crispy apples in my desserts!) This worked well. They were soft after being baked in the recipe. Use 20 oz. bottle of Smucker's topping, it's the perfect amount, although after cooking it on the stove it was too thick to "pour" over the apples, it was more like "spread." Also, used 2/3 of crumb mixture for crust and 1/3 for topping as suggested by others. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States