Caramel Apple Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Not too exciting. I'd try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This recipe is super-forgiving, even when you don't follow directions well! I made this recipe with all the specified ingredients EXCEPT walnuts. I did not add any spices or anything extra. I also forgot to half the flour/oatmeal mixture, so my bars ended up being a thick base layer of flour/oatmeal, a sparse layer of apples, and an inconsistent layer of caramel sauce. It was still delicious (my boyfriend loves them), although next time I will double the amount of apples and make all of the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as it is written and it was not a big hit with anyone.Even served it with ice cream and the ice cream got eaten but not cookie. Needs more sugar in the oat mixture and the apples,a touch of cinnamon would help too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
These were delicious. I made them according to the recipe and they turned out great. They were actually better the 2nd and 3rd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Pawloski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Fantastic dessert, I followed instructions, but like others I made a few changes. I added the 1/2t cinnamon also, and I used Golden Delicious apples instead and also used Finely Ground Walnuts and now I am getting request for the recipe or make them for other people to share @ home,etc. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Made this and I think it turned out great. I used baking caramel instead of the candy and a can of apple pie filing instead if freshly cored and sliced ones. Caramel was easy to work with since no unwrapping each piece was needed. Made the caramel into salted caramel to add a little kick, not too much salt just a dash. Also only used half of the caramel the recipe called for. Apple filing worked perfect and didn't make the crisp soggy at all. Would work good with a side of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
these are easy to make and so yummy! I cooked the caramel in the microwave - 1 minute to heat it up and then added the flour and cooked it for about 4 more minutes stopping once or twice to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made these nearly the same as written, except I used more apples and skipped mixing the caramel sauce with flour. I just heated the sauce in the microwave and poured it as is over the apples. It still turned out great, and everyone at my birthday party loved them! (We ate them with whipped cream! Yum!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These are delicious, but they didn't hold together well. There's no way there is enough crumb mix to spread over a 15x10 pan, so I did it in a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I love apples, and I love caramel, so I knew this recipe was going to be love at first bite. I would make these again and again if I could handle that amount of butter on a regular basis. These bars are wonderful. One change, or addition that I did make, was to add a sprinkle of cinnamon into the oat mixture. Not necessary, but I love cinnamon with apples. The crunchy, buttery topping is the perfect match for the gooey, apple filling. It's a good thing I was making these for a group of people, or I probably would have downed the dish myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States