Captain's Crunch French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
yes it is good and yes not for the diet conscious...i believe this is also like a recipe from diner dives and drive in fame...guy fieri show?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
We offered this on our Saturday Breakfast menu at our restaurant. It got great reviews from staff and customers alike....decadent! Oh my! One family asked for the recipe so I referred them to allrecipes.com! Others offered suggestions of various other sugar fix cereals to try including ones with berries or peanut butter Captain Crunch. Paired with a good bacon it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I saw this recipe on diners drive ins and dives and thought....hmmmm a trip to Baltimore may be needed! But...made it myself and ......this was fantastic!! I love the crust that formed on the outside!! YUM! DO NOT CHANGE A THING!! PERECT AS IS!!!!!!!! :)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made this delicious recipe but I used Cinnamon Crunch cereal, crushed....and a bit less nutmeg. sooooo good, thank you for sharing ;)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Youngberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Abso-Freakin-lutely Tasty! Thanks for this...yours truly, Bubba's Dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Easy and fun to make with my kids! We have made this recipe and used cinnamon toast crunch instead. It was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was a great use of our leftover challah from Shabbat, but I did make some changes so it would be healthier. I only used 2 eggs, omitted the heavy cream, used 3/4 cup of soymilk instead of 1/2 cup 2% milk, used vegetable oil instead of butter, and Life cereal instead of Cap'n Crunch (far less than the 1/2 package suggested by the recipe). Also, maybe it's just my stove, but I partiallly burned the first slice at 3 minutes on medium-high heat. I cooked the rest of them for 1 minute on medium heat and they cooked perfectly. With these changes, it was great! My family loved it. I will probably make again next time we need to use up some challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Just wonderful. Didn't change a thing and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
French Toast with Captain Crunch cereal in it sounds crazy but, if you've ever been to the Blue Moon in Baltimore, you know... People wait in line for well over an hour to eat at this place, and this is one of their most popular dishes. I live in Texas and do not get up to MD very often-there is nothing like it. Thank you so much for posting-you did a great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charycen
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States