Captain's Crunch French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Abso-Freakin-lutely Tasty! Thanks for this...yours truly, Bubba's Dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
yes it is good and yes not for the diet conscious...i believe this is also like a recipe from diner dives and drive in fame...guy fieri show?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
We offered this on our Saturday Breakfast menu at our restaurant. It got great reviews from staff and customers alike....decadent! Oh my! One family asked for the recipe so I referred them to allrecipes.com! Others offered suggestions of various other sugar fix cereals to try including ones with berries or peanut butter Captain Crunch. Paired with a good bacon it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Just wonderful. Didn't change a thing and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was really good French toast - but the recipe ingredients are off a bit in my opinion. I had a lot of egg batter left over - so I would probably reduce the ingredients if I were to make this again. I did use just regular whole wheat bread - so maybe that effected how much egg batter was used. I also needed a lot more Cap'n Crunch cereal than the recipe called for, probably about triple (1 1/2 cups). The end result was really good - my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made this for breakfast this morning and it was a hit! It taste great but definitely NOT for the diet conscious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was sooo good! It was the first time I used Challah bread for French Toast and it defintiely won't be the last. The Captain Crunch made a nice cripsy/chewy texture on the outside. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made this delicious recipe but I used Cinnamon Crunch cereal, crushed....and a bit less nutmeg. sooooo good, thank you for sharing ;)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Youngberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was a great use of our leftover challah from Shabbat, but I did make some changes so it would be healthier. I only used 2 eggs, omitted the heavy cream, used 3/4 cup of soymilk instead of 1/2 cup 2% milk, used vegetable oil instead of butter, and Life cereal instead of Cap'n Crunch (far less than the 1/2 package suggested by the recipe). Also, maybe it's just my stove, but I partiallly burned the first slice at 3 minutes on medium-high heat. I cooked the rest of them for 1 minute on medium heat and they cooked perfectly. With these changes, it was great! My family loved it. I will probably make again next time we need to use up some challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States