Captain Jack's Peach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Delicious! I used 2 bags of frozen peaches, un-thawed, so it did take longer to bake, but that was to be expected. Great flavor and just enough sweetness. Served this warm w/ a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of caramel sauce~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Though this is a good recipe, I have found that when it comes to peach pies epescially; that 1/2 a cup white sugar & 1/2 a cup of brown sugar are very vital to the taste of the pie. I ommitted the allspice and the cardamom. I also added a 1/4 more teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. vanilla. Fresh peaches are a must. Some people don't like the taste of nutmeg, if you don't like it,sub with the cardamom, allspice or just omitt it. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eaglesbaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Very very good. Will make my own crust next time ... it deserves that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was fabulous. I have to admit that I think I like it more before it was cooked than after - the filling is to die for!!! I am going to use the filling on icecream!!! Not to detract from how deliciouse the pie was once it was cooked. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILLERSQUARED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I used 10 peaches, 2 Oz. spiced rum and everything else was as per recipe. This pie was excellent, fast and easy. Just my style. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Not sure why, but it did not taste good at all. Tart, weird spices, and did not look good. A waste of some great peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is the best peach pie I have ever made. I will use this peach pie recipe over and over again. I find that you can also make peach cobbler out of this recipe. The cinnamon, cardamon, and ground allspice adds so much flavor to this recipe, it makes this pie soooo --- delicious. I did leave out the rum , and used 1 tablespoon of vanilla. The next time I am going to use rum extact in place of the rum. This pie turned out so perfect. I would advise anyone that uses this recipe to use the fresh peaches has directed. I would rate this recipe has a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Yes, everything is better with rum. Even peach pie. Couldn't find any plain rum in the house, so I substituted some vanilla flavored rum, which went really well with the flavor of the peaches. I also substituted 1/3 cup of tapioca pudding for the 1/3 cup of flour. My great grandmother swore by tapioca to thicken pies and said you can substitute an equal amount in any recipe calling for flour. The filling thickened and the bottom crust did not get soggy. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Yo Ho Ho and a pie full of YUM! Seriously, everything's better with rum and this pie is no exception! I made as directed, except adding in a few extra peaches, I used 10 large in all. The spices were right on and the rum added a great flavor. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing, Chelipepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States