Captain Duarte's Salt Cod Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great recipe. Changed potato to sweet potato though. Used 1 whole egg and 1 egg white also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shopkins1994
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
These were one of the best things I have ever eaten. Who in the world would have thought. I bought salted cod because I had never seen it before and I like to try new things. I did not use onions but did add 1/2 teaspoon onion powder. I used 1 and 1/3 teaspoon old bay seasoning for the seafood seasoning which gave it a slight seasoned taste. Anything less and you would not be able to taste it (as others have said). I used 1 pound of yellow potatoes. Yukon gold would be the equivalent. I have no idea why people continuously post recipes with potato sizes instead of weight. You definitely have to use fresh parsley chopped course. It adds to the flavor in each bite and goes a long way for presentation. People who are complaining that it was too mushy are making crab cake sized cakes. If you look at the recipe it says make golf ball sized cakes. Your cakes will (and should be) small. They should be about 3/8"-1/2" thick. Make sure you have about 1/16"-1/8" of oil in the pan when you cook these. If your oil evaporates add more. You do not want to skimp on the oil or they won't brown and cook correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Fish cakes are a big thing in Bermuda, recipe above is similar but use 3 lb of fish to a 5 lb bag of potatoes. we let the salt fish soak overnight and in the morning rinse the fish under cold water tap getting a lot of salt off and feeling for bones then bring to boil once and through out water. Place potatoes in pot with fish and cover with fresh water, boil and it is ready for smashing. A must with our fish cakes is parsley, curry powder to taste and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Used 3 large potatoes, 1/4 c. dried parsley, 1/2 an onion, and 1 t. of "The Famous Seafood Seasoning Recipe". Since the mixture was very moist, I might be able to use 1 egg next time. Good 1st try. I like the suggestion of using the same process for salmon cakes. Next time I will try with Old Bay Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curlyfry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very messy. Chilled in the fridge and added flour to try and improve texture. No luck super sticky and messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good, tradtional portuguese fish cake! I didnt use fish seasoning, just pepper, garlic powder and a dash of red pepper flakes. I made these last year also, and now everyone looks for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
My family is from Panama and Codfish cakes are a staple in the house and these are very good, but we added Cilantro,scallon and redpepper to our mix I think you call it habanero pepper hear it was great and the potato is a very nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These were the BEST codfish cakes that I have had in the U.S. Whenever I order crabcakes in restaurants, they are always overly breaded --- these are filled with fish and nicely balanced by the potatoes. A few improvements to the recipe: add 1/3 more spice, grate and strain the onion, add chopped cilantro with the parsely. In addition, I served with fresh lime, onion, cilantro and hot sauce. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was good and easy to make. Next time I will add a little more seasoning, though-it could stand a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymakes5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Four stars for me, two for Barbara. She doesn't care for cod very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

How to Make Tapas

See how to make two types of traditional tapas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States