Captain Crunch Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
If you follow the recipe the way it is, this is a 1*, however, with the addition of the following you will have better results. I based my rating on those additions. You need to make the Captain Crunch cereal very, very fine. With that also grind up very fine regular Corn Flakes. Mix those together. Also make an egg wash to dip the chicken into. Finally, mix a little flour, garlic powder, onion powder and freshly ground black pepper, together. Order should be: egg wash, flour mixture, cereal mixture. Also, I fry my tenders instead of baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Okay guys I got it. This recipe rocks!!! I read some of the reviews on this recipe and the one thing I noticed is when people said that they had a problem making the captain crunch stick to the chicken. Well I solved it! On this site there is a recipe for oven fried chicken. the recipe calls for crushed ritz crackers and mayonaise, yes mayonaise. Well after cooking it I found that it really makes sense. Mayo is an oil and it helps the crushed crackers stick to the chicken. Well that is exactly what I did here. I crushed the captain crunch in a blender and coated the chicken (bone in)with the mayonaise and then coated it with the captain crunch and basically oven fried it like shake n bake for 45 min. and BAM! there you got it, captain crunch oven fried chicken. The flavor it incredible, if you choose to make this, do like me and get past the mayo, make it and enjoy it. Trust me your family will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I tried making the chicken with an egg wash and flour before rolling in the captain crunch, this chicken turned out wonderful with those recommendations. I used a mixture of spicy mustard and mayonnaise for a sauce. Will definetly hold onto this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
I've been making this for years, but make sure you coat your chicken in ranch dressing prior to mixing it up with the Captain Crunch. It gives it a sweet flavor and texture. Also, instead of Captain Crunch - try Ritz crackers smashed up. But don't forget the Ranch Dressing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Great recipe-not as sweet as you think it will turn out to be. I needed to coat only two chicken breasts, and ended up only using about 1 cup of cereal. Dipping the chicken in egg first helps them to be evenly coated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
I crushed the cereal in a food processer much easier to coat the chicken and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have a different version of this recipe: 2 c crushed Cap'n Crunch, 1 egg, 1 c milk, 1 c flour, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp pepper, 2 lb boneless chicken strips, oil for frying. Put crused cereal in a bowl, Beat egg and milk set aside, Stir flour & seasonings set aside. Dip chicken into flour mixture, shake off excess. Dip... into the egg mixture, coat well, then dip into cereal, coat well. Then fry and enjoy! A bit more flavor and more to my family's liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
My sister made this for a family party & I was skeptical. It was absolutely delicious! She served it with garlic mashed potatoes & everybody had seconds (even the picky kids)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
Very sweet chicken, since the sugar carmelizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was a fun and easy recipe to do with the kids. Instead of placing the chicken breasts on a greased baking dish, I laid them on a bed of uncrushed cereal and poured honey over the top of it. very moist and nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curt B

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mitchellville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States