Captain Crunch Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I took the advice of another review and did the flour/egg bath/cap crunch method. I put garlic and onion powder in the flour. The savory goes nice with the sweet Cap Crunch. I oven fried them and served them with honey mustard recipe found on this website! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Tastes like cap'n crunch coated chicken. No one in family would take a second bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I make this often. People of all ages love it. Its good when you use a mango of pineapple salsa of chutney for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
My kids absolutely loved this one! I first had Captain crunch chicken at Planet Hollywood at WDW. This is a great homecooked version. We used honey mustard for dipping. Also I would recommend deep frying for crispness, I baked and only one side was crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I'm mixed on this, don't think it's bad just don't know that I thought it was good enough to make again! I put the chicken in an egg bath (milk/eggs) then into seasoned flour then back in the egg bath then into the crushed cereal. I think if I'd have had a mustard sauce to dip them in I would have LOVED them but otherwise, they were just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I've made this for years and it's always a hit. I add a little flour, black pepper, and seasoned salt to the Cap'n Crunch to cut a bit of the sweetness. I prefer it fried in shortening. If you like a sweeter version, this is great on a Hawaiian sandwich roll w/ honey mustard! Tip for crushing the cereal-place in large plastic bag, seal and let the kids crush w/ the flat end of a meat tenderizer while you prep the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Okay guys I got it. This recipe rocks!!! I read some of the reviews on this recipe and the one thing I noticed is when people said that they had a problem making the captain crunch stick to the chicken. Well I solved it! On this site there is a recipe for oven fried chicken. the recipe calls for crushed ritz crackers and mayonaise, yes mayonaise. Well after cooking it I found that it really makes sense. Mayo is an oil and it helps the crushed crackers stick to the chicken. Well that is exactly what I did here. I crushed the captain crunch in a blender and coated the chicken (bone in)with the mayonaise and then coated it with the captain crunch and basically oven fried it like shake n bake for 45 min. and BAM! there you got it, captain crunch oven fried chicken. The flavor it incredible, if you choose to make this, do like me and get past the mayo, make it and enjoy it. Trust me your family will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I had the Cap'n Crunch chicken at Planet Hollywood years ago and loved it. Something is definitely missing from this version. It was sweet and bland. Even the kids gave it a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
As some of the other reviewers have mentioned, this recipe just seems to be missing something... The sweet is nice, but it needs some "kick" added to it - as is, it's kinda bland. I'll likely try this one again someday - once I figure out what it needs to give it that missing "zing" ;);)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Not bad, stayed very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States