Caprese Salad with Grilled Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Fabulous! A perfect summer meal that's light, easy to make and tastes great without a ton of effort. I didn't bother refrigerating the caprese salad and made that last while the meat was grilling. I lightly scored the steak on both sides and cut it into four individual steaks to make grilling it a bit easier. I put the steak into a ziploc bag along with the olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper with just a splash or two of white wine vinegar and let it marinate for a couple of hours. I served the steak along side the lettuce and caprese salad with "Linda's Best Ever Garlic Bread" from this site. The only thing left was to open a nice bottle of wine and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This recipe was delicious and easy. I marinated the flank steak overnight. We will definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Made this for dinner last night, and my husband loved it! Delicious, satisfying dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This salad recipe was very good. I added a few items to the salad: sliced, fire-roasted, red peppers; 1/2 of a purple onion, finely diced; and bottled balsamic vinaigrette dressing. It turned out great and there were no leftovers. I used a different steak marinade as I prefer my flank steak to marinate for a minimum of 8 hours so I can't comment on the meat portion. The salad part was fantastic, with the modifications. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akchick70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for a tasty, filling lunch this summer. We use Ginger Honey Vinegar! I look forward to it when it's on the menu for the week - which is usually 2 times each week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Mills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I was really disappointed with the marinade and toughness of the steak. I marinated it for a good 6 hours but the marinade does not have enough liquid. I even used tenderized flank steak. I would suggest using a different juicier marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 13, July 2013 ~ Flank steak is the one cut of steak that I do enjoy, and this was a good recipe to use it on. I marinated the steak over night, so it was well seasoned when it was time to grill. I mixed up the olive oil, tomatoes, mozzarella, basil, garlic and onion (I added those) in the morning so that the flavors would be well blended. I did use a mixture of romaine and spinach leaves as that is what I had on hand. This was very quick to pull together and made for a nice filling meal on a hot summer day. The grilling time of 5 minutes per side at medium-high temps produced a perfect 140° steak. I served this salad with ‘Unbelievable Grilled Garlic Bread’ from AR and we had a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Ideal healthy summertime meal, especially when it's hot. Easy enough to make and tastes great. I however used another marinade for the flank steak (not that there is anything wrong with the one noted for the recipe) and used a Spring Mix that I added Butter Lettuce to because my store does not carry a Butter Lettuce Mix. Light and filling without leaving you stuffed. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Recipe Group 7/13/13. Very light and refreshing salad. The tomato mixture with the basil was delicious. Garlic was not overpowering. And the balsamic dressing was just enough with the EVOO to not need any other additional dressing. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This was fabulous! I did not have flank steak, so substituted flat iron steak. My husband hates tomatoes but he literally cleaned his plate! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States