Caprese Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very good. Reminds me of Caprese salad that I had while in Italy. I used fresh mozz balls and bow tie pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Not bad but not special. I could do without the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
We really enjoyed this recipe. It's a great way to make a Caprese salad become more hearty. I used walnuts and it was still delicious. Make sure to use smaller garlic cloves. I used a large clove when I cut the recipe in half and it really overpowered the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Delish! Easy and great use of fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTY29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Tasted exactly like Caprese Salad. Thanks for sharing this. I did not use pine nuts and it came out perfect. I will be making this again and again this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
The pesto sauce gave good flavor but the salad was very dry and uninteresting . Had lots of leftovers--added some oil and vinegar salad dressing and grilled chicken and tossed. Great improvement. Probably won't make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I've made these a few times and it always turns out so yummy! I haven't made it without the pine nuts because I think it makes it more authentic. If pine nuts aren't available or really expensive, I've seen walnuts, pecans or almonds used, but haven't tried it myself. I would wait to add the mozzarella until the pasta is cooler (room temp, or if it's been in the fridge for a while), or just before serving. If added warm, they start to melt. If you add it while the pasta is cold and let it sit in the fridge, it and the pasta tends to absorb the flavor of the pesto. I use fresh fusilli from the farmers market. I also add a few dashes of balsamic vinegar for a little tang and cut through that super fresh herby taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was so disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
It was wonderful. I doubled the fresh mozzarella cheese and added feta because I had some. I took it to a pot luck and it was gone in no time. Thanks, this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is good, but a lot more pasta than I would use, so I'd probably use half the amount next time. I found myself adding more mozzarella and tomato because the pasta overwhelmed everything else. The pesto is very good and did cover the amount of pasta called for. I made this to take to a bbq and made it the night before; before I left, I added a bunch of sliced basil leaves to the salad. It added more color and helped the flavor, so if you love basil don't be afraid to add more! :o) This was a lovely pasta salad that is easy and relatively quick to make. It was a hit at the bbq. I had leftovers, but it made a ton, so keep that in mind. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States