Caprese Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
YUUMMMMMEEEEEE! I followed it exactly as written with one minor substitution. The taste and texture is wonderful, never picked up a knife because they were still tender. I did use thinner breasts, not too thick. I didn't have fresh basil so I used about a 1/2 inch squeeze of basil puree from a bottle. (usually right next to the fresh herbs in the supermarket) I spread it on the breasts right before adding the mozzarella and tomatoes. Make sure you use FRESH mozzarella people! MY 14 y.o. daughter, who doesn't like fresh tomatoes, gobbled it up and asked if there was anymore! The rest of the crowd said, "make more next time!" And it LOOKS so gourmet too. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
We loved this! The addition of the Montreal chicken seasoning in the marinade was awesome! I baked these for 30 minutes at 350 and then 7 minutes more with the cheese on top to melt. I added the tomato at the e,d after baking, as I find cooked tomatoes to be too soggy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Five star all the way! Beautiful chicken....served with homemade marinara and spaghetti....the bomb! Can't wait to show it off to dinner guests! Thank you for this recipe....follow it exactly and you will be the star in your kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I also love Insalata Caprese, but it turns out I like it cold and without chicken! The marinated chicken was fine - tender and flavorful - typical for marinated chicken and nothing special. I used a full 9 oz jar of Italian dressing because I didn't want 1 oz leftover. I thought it needed extra tomatoes, mozzarella and basil. It certainly was easy, but I found it to be boring and I didn't care for a warmed up tomato on top of my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This recipe is wonderfully flavorful, and the chicken was very tender. I skipped the chicken seasoning because I felt there would be enough flavor from the Italian dressing and seasoning. The chicken was grilled on the BBQ using wood chips which added flavor. I added the mozzarella and tomato at the end, and put the grill lid down to allow the cheese to melt which saved a dirty pan. I cut my fresh basil into a chiffonade because a whole leaf can be overwhelming as well as more difficult to eat. Since the breasts were large, I sliced them horizontally. We liked the thinner chicken, and it cooked quicker. My family raved about this recipe, asking me to "star" it so I can make it again. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Wow the marinade really made this chicken amazing. I thought the mozzarella and tomato were a bit of an overkill but the rest of my family loved it. I don't really like that much cheese. I've also just grilled the chicken with out the cheese and this also turned out great. All in all this is a great simple recipe and a different way to make chicken. I will defiantly be making this again. The best meal I made with this chicken is grilled chicken and asparagus in balsamic vinegar or leak salad with a vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a really delicious and flavorful chicken recipe. The marinade gave it an abundance of flavors so I didn’t see the need to add balsamic vinaigrette at the end. For presentation, I added the slice of fresh mozzarella on top of the tomato. This was a nice evening meal to enjoy with angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Devan
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
So good. I used cherry tomatoes and sauteed the tomatoes and basil before topping the chicken. The marinade was delicious! Very moist and tender chicken that wasn't bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I loved this recipe. I did not use seasoning at all. I cut the breast thin and marinated it in Ken's Lite Northern Italian w/Basil & Romano dressing overnight. I love basil so I layered it basil, tomato, basil, cheese. Once cooked I added more basil on top. It was delish!!!!! Could not believe it was with no seasoning. Instead, I sautéed the chicken in olive oil. I actually forgot to add the balsamic vinegar and it was awesome without it. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Healthy, delicious, and easy. I used 1" tomatoes cut in half, cut up the basil, and stirred together with salt and pepper. Then added it all to the skillet and covered for a few minutes, after melting the cheese. It looked very appetizing and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States