Caprese Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delicious! I bought boconccini (little fresh mozzarella balls) and I marinated them for 2 days in garlic powder, dried basil and oregano and salt and pepper. I then halved them and assembled them with one tomato a strip of fresh basil folded in half, sandwiched between the cheese and tomato. Soooo good and they were all eaten in a matter of minutes and there were only 5 of us eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I haven't made this exact recipe but one similar. I find it's easier to eat if you halve the grape tomatoes and put the cubed cheese with the half piece. I also marinate the mixture for a few hours in the olive oil and add some dried herbs for extra flavor. Also add a few sprinkles of crushed red pepper flakes for color - doesn't really make it that spicy. I rub the flakes in the palms of my hands to crush a little more and release the flavors too. Be sure to buy the best mozzarella cheese you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made these on Christmas Eve and they were a huge hit! I changed the recipe to flavor it up a bit: add extra basil (i actually used frozen!), a tiny bit of garlic powder and red pepper flakes. I marinated this for about 30 minutes. I also recommend using small balls of mozzarella, halving them and then skewering with a whole grape tomato. Love this recipe... it is SO easy! I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is one of my favorite things to eat, but I had a little balsamic vinegar to the mixture. Gives it just the right amount of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was very good! I skewered half a grape tomato, a piece of fresh mozzarella cheese, a piece of basil and then the second half of the tomato. Then I drizzled the oil, salt, papper and some basalmic vinegar over the skewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I buy the mozzarella balls that are in a herbed oil in the specialty cheese case of my grocery store. Make the skewers & pour the oil over them. Then I drizzle some balsamic vinagrette salad dressing over them. They fly off the table! So easy to make & take. Everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My sister-in-law made these for Christmas. Instead of chopping the basil she threaded a leaf between the cheese and tomato. She also used halved baby boconccini which is softer than regular mozzarella. It tasted like summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yummy and easy! I marinated everything for a few hours before skewering. I would have added balsamic vinagrette, but a person at the party is allergic to it. Instead, I found a squeeze bottle of balsamic vinagrette glaze at the store and used it as a dip. Big hit! I realize I could have made the reduction myself, but time was of the essence and I did not want my other food to smell like vinegar! Anyway, wonderful finger food for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
great little low carb appetizer!! i had forgot to mix everything in a bowl before i skewered the halved tomatoes and mozz, it didn't matter, i just lightly poured some evoo & balsamic on it & topped it off with the chopped basil...it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made this for a birthday party. Big hit!! I added italian seasoning to the olive oil mixture and sprinkled parmesan cheese after skewering. It was very delicious. I used skewers instead of toothpicks. It fits everything nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilman, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Greek Appetizer Flatbread

See how to make a simple Greek-inspired flatbread appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States