Caprese Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
For added flavor, rinse the tomatoes and roll in sea salt or other dry spices while they are still wet. The spices will stick to the skin and add that little bit of flavor. When you are finished assembling the skewers, stack in layers facing opposite directions (like a tic tac toe board) and drizzle lightly with balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These were simple and delicious. I marinated mine for a full day (the cheese with the herbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Temme
Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
These are perfect appetizers which are easy for guests to eat and quick to make. I use marinated mozzarella balls that I cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I served these as an appetizer to my Thanksgiving meal. I followed the recipe but added a balsamic "glaze" by drizzling on it the platter prior to placing the tomato and mozzarella picks on top of it. The glaze I used is Acetaia del Casato Bertoni Crema which I purchased in Italy but there are balsamic glazes available at grocery/specialty stores here in the U.S. that are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Delicious! I threw all ingredients into a ziplock and let the flavors marry while I worked on a few other dishes. By the time I was done, they were ready to be stuck together. I used one package of grape tomatoes and two packages of ore packaged mozzarella balls. My husband and daughter do not like tomatoes but they loved the combination of the tasty 1:1 ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made these for Christmas Eve. I bought the mozzarella balls that are seasoned. I cut the tomatoes and cheese balls in half. I put a tomato half on each side of the cheese ball with the fresh basil in between. I was not sure how these would manage being marinated, but next time I will marinate more. I saved the cheese marinade, added some balsamic vinegar, lemon, salt and pepper. Made the appetizer, then drizzled the marinade over them. I had leftovers, which showed me they are even better the next day. I kept the marinade in a container and served it with the appetizer, along with reduced balsamic vinegar. My sister loved this recipe. I think I will use an entire cheese ball per appetizer next time, I personally think the tomatoes cut in half make it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This was amazing! The same deliciousness of Caprese Salad but without the hastle of eating with a fork. INCREDIBLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
The prep work for this was a little more time-consuming, but well worth the effort. Everyone loved being able to eat them without a knife and fork. I'll make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Hawkes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Always a hit, they just disappear off the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Tasty, healthy, delicious and simple!!! We made these for the first time about two weeks ago and we couldn't make them fast enough; they were devoured. Like others, we also chopped up the basil while using a few of the larger chopped basil leaves to thread between each piece of cheese/tomato. We'll certainly kept this as one of our go-to appetizer recipes to satisfy our guests ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Greek Appetizer Flatbread

See how to make a simple Greek-inspired flatbread appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States