Caprese Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
great little low carb appetizer!! i had forgot to mix everything in a bowl before i skewered the halved tomatoes and mozz, it didn't matter, i just lightly poured some evoo & balsamic on it & topped it off with the chopped basil...it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made these on Christmas Eve and they were a huge hit! I changed the recipe to flavor it up a bit: add extra basil (i actually used frozen!), a tiny bit of garlic powder and red pepper flakes. I marinated this for about 30 minutes. I also recommend using small balls of mozzarella, halving them and then skewering with a whole grape tomato. Love this recipe... it is SO easy! I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delicious! I bought boconccini (little fresh mozzarella balls) and I marinated them for 2 days in garlic powder, dried basil and oregano and salt and pepper. I then halved them and assembled them with one tomato a strip of fresh basil folded in half, sandwiched between the cheese and tomato. Soooo good and they were all eaten in a matter of minutes and there were only 5 of us eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I buy the mozzarella balls that are in a herbed oil in the specialty cheese case of my grocery store. Make the skewers & pour the oil over them. Then I drizzle some balsamic vinagrette salad dressing over them. They fly off the table! So easy to make & take. Everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I like this very fresh tasting. so easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taag4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made this for a birthday party. Big hit!! I added italian seasoning to the olive oil mixture and sprinkled parmesan cheese after skewering. It was very delicious. I used skewers instead of toothpicks. It fits everything nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilman, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yummy and easy! I marinated everything for a few hours before skewering. I would have added balsamic vinagrette, but a person at the party is allergic to it. Instead, I found a squeeze bottle of balsamic vinagrette glaze at the store and used it as a dip. Big hit! I realize I could have made the reduction myself, but time was of the essence and I did not want my other food to smell like vinegar! Anyway, wonderful finger food for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I have not made this recipe but have one fairly close. I use marinated boconccini balls and halve them as well as the Santa Sweet tomatoes. Santa Sweet (maybe cherub tomotoes too) are the best tomatoes for this type of appetizer or just palin snacking! I use the whole basil leave between the cheese and tomato. I like to use the "fancy" toothpicks with the frill on the end and customize to event - red/green for holidays, team colors for game day. Just before serving I will drizzle the marinade from boconccini balls over the tomatoes/cheese to "freshen up". Also sprinkle with chopped basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Just plain yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Just a simple twist on an old classic recipe and you really can't go wrong with this. I am of the opinion that no food is perfect without garlic but unfortunately, not everyone shares my view. So...I often begin by cutting a garlic clove in half and rubbing the cut side on the serving dish. It provides the wonderful aroma of garlic and only a hint of flavor. I also like to add a light drizzle of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Greek Appetizer Flatbread

See how to make a simple Greek-inspired flatbread appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States