Caprese Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I haven't made this exact recipe but one similar. I find it's easier to eat if you halve the grape tomatoes and put the cubed cheese with the half piece. I also marinate the mixture for a few hours in the olive oil and add some dried herbs for extra flavor. Also add a few sprinkles of crushed red pepper flakes for color - doesn't really make it that spicy. I rub the flakes in the palms of my hands to crush a little more and release the flavors too. Be sure to buy the best mozzarella cheese you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is one of my favorite things to eat, but I had a little balsamic vinegar to the mixture. Gives it just the right amount of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My sister-in-law made these for Christmas. Instead of chopping the basil she threaded a leaf between the cheese and tomato. She also used halved baby boconccini which is softer than regular mozzarella. It tasted like summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
great little low carb appetizer!! i had forgot to mix everything in a bowl before i skewered the halved tomatoes and mozz, it didn't matter, i just lightly poured some evoo & balsamic on it & topped it off with the chopped basil...it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made these on Christmas Eve and they were a huge hit! I changed the recipe to flavor it up a bit: add extra basil (i actually used frozen!), a tiny bit of garlic powder and red pepper flakes. I marinated this for about 30 minutes. I also recommend using small balls of mozzarella, halving them and then skewering with a whole grape tomato. Love this recipe... it is SO easy! I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yummy and easy! I marinated everything for a few hours before skewering. I would have added balsamic vinagrette, but a person at the party is allergic to it. Instead, I found a squeeze bottle of balsamic vinagrette glaze at the store and used it as a dip. Big hit! I realize I could have made the reduction myself, but time was of the essence and I did not want my other food to smell like vinegar! Anyway, wonderful finger food for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was very good! I skewered half a grape tomato, a piece of fresh mozzarella cheese, a piece of basil and then the second half of the tomato. Then I drizzled the oil, salt, papper and some basalmic vinegar over the skewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Delicious! I bought boconccini (little fresh mozzarella balls) and I marinated them for 2 days in garlic powder, dried basil and oregano and salt and pepper. I then halved them and assembled them with one tomato a strip of fresh basil folded in half, sandwiched between the cheese and tomato. Soooo good and they were all eaten in a matter of minutes and there were only 5 of us eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I like this very fresh tasting. so easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taag4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I have not made this recipe but have one fairly close. I use marinated boconccini balls and halve them as well as the Santa Sweet tomatoes. Santa Sweet (maybe cherub tomotoes too) are the best tomatoes for this type of appetizer or just palin snacking! I use the whole basil leave between the cheese and tomato. I like to use the "fancy" toothpicks with the frill on the end and customize to event - red/green for holidays, team colors for game day. Just before serving I will drizzle the marinade from boconccini balls over the tomatoes/cheese to "freshen up". Also sprinkle with chopped basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Greek Appetizer Flatbread

See how to make a simple Greek-inspired flatbread appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States