Caprese Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I really liked this. A premium mozzaella is a must. I used a deli mozzarella and it just made it so so. Tasted better after sitting over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These have been the highlight of my summer! I've taken them to parties and love them the next day for lunch or with a sandwich or salad. Tip for buying ingred: ~25 grape tomatoes (Santa Sweets) per container, ~45 sm mozzarella balls per container, party picks come 50/pk. I skewer tomatoe, basil/basil paste or no basil if without & mozz. I have marinated everything overnight & skewered or skewered with no seasoning to transport and take a small container of seasoning and drizzle over the plate before serving. Drizzle Mediterrean dipping oil & you don't need anything else to season except maybe salt & cracked pepper or garlic if that's to your taste. Once skewered, they will stand up on a plate in a 3" deep plastic container with a lid for taking or keeping in the fridge. If you love the classic caprese or "tomatoe salad" at your favorite restaurant, you're going to be so happy to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great recipe, and oh so simple. I halved the tomatoes and the cheese, putting the halves together on one toothpick with a fresh basil leaf between, and they were the first to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Clever and delicious idea! I've made this several times with much success! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Perfect for our monthly potluck. Very easy and quick. Followed others' suggestions with adding extra herbs and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Just a simple twist on an old classic recipe and you really can't go wrong with this. I am of the opinion that no food is perfect without garlic but unfortunately, not everyone shares my view. So...I often begin by cutting a garlic clove in half and rubbing the cut side on the serving dish. It provides the wonderful aroma of garlic and only a hint of flavor. I also like to add a light drizzle of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I make this but cut the tomatoes and caprese balls in half and add a touch of balsamic vinegar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
So easy, elegant and GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I've been doing this for ages. I do them on skewers. Add a black olive { (reg or calamadi) Olive oil, balsamic, garlic , fresh basil& red pepper flakes. Display on whole eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Good but not terrific. Add balsamic vinegar to marinade and use leftovers in a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Greek Appetizer Flatbread

See how to make a simple Greek-inspired flatbread appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States