Cappuccino Flats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I made 31 (!) dozen of these cookies for Christmas Cookie exchanges. They have a wonderful, unusual taste and are so easy to make. Instead of dipping the cookie in chocolate, I drizzled on melted white chocolate--the contrast between the dark cookie and the light chocolate was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I think I'd cut down on the shortening in the chocolate mixture - it didn't seem to harden quite enough for easy storage - and I upped both the coffee and cinnamon because the dough seemed a bit bland. They turned out reasonabley tasty in the end, but not phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
If you like a cookie that is not too sweet, this is a great cookie. Yes, it looks like a fussy recipe, but it's not too much work. I usually mix the dough up one day, wrap it, and then bake it in the next few days when I have time. This is the same recipe in the Taste of Home "Best of Country Cookies" cookbook, a cookbook I will never part with, ever. You can vary the intensity of the coffee flavor by choosing either a dark or light roast instant coffee. I just made these for a cookie exchange and I used two packets from a box of Folgers Fresh Breaks, Black Silk (dark) single serve packets. The coffee flavor really comes through and will be made even better with a thin coat of chocolate. If you like a nice mocha, give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very tender and delicate with a good amount of flavor as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I thought this recipe was delicious. I had to make a last minute substitution on the instant coffee as I was unknowingly out. I used 2 tbsp. of french vanilla Nescafe® iced coffee syrup and a teaspoon of finely crushed regular coffee. The next time I make it I probabably won't dip them in the chocolate - maybe just drizzle some white chocolate on. The chocolate coating overpowers the delicate, yummy cookie for me - I've been eating the chocolate half first so I can savory the plain side last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
These cookies are amazing! Have made them several times, and they are always great. I added a teaspoon of vanilla, because I thought they needed a bit more flavor. They are always a hit, and eaten up as fast as I make them. You will love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've been making these cookies for years and are a favorite in my family. A couple tips: the cookies are best if not over-cooked. Make sure to slice them a generous 1/4" thickness and bake them only until the edges have a slight firmness when touched. They will then cool to a light softness. Secondly, if making lots of cookies, you'll want to occasionally rewarm the dipping chocolate. This keeps the dipped coating from getting too thick and ovewhelming. I sometimes also dip just an edge in the chocolate, rather than half the cookie. This makes just a tease of milk chocolate. Lastly, I put the dipped cookies on wax paper and chill them for a bit before storing them. This keeps the dip from sticking when stacking cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Good cookie. I used all margarine for the recipe (instead of shortening/butter) and served with vanilla ice cream. I did not drizzle chocolate on the top but thought they tasted just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
Delicious. Added more spices (cinnamon, nutmeg). Have also made using molasses instead of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Didn't care for this one at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States