Cappuccino Cookie Bar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
If you love mocha or coffee you're going to love these cookie bars, if you're not a coffee lover then you probably shouldn't make these because the coffee flavor is very strong. This is definitely not a treat that I'm going to make all the time, but they were very tasty. I ate two of them and actually felt a little buzzed from the caffeine in them, and I drink coffee every day. Maybe make these with decaf so you don't over do it! I'm giving these cookies 3 stars for the directions but 4 stars for the results. Here are the changes I made: I used INSTANT coffee instead of grounds and I put it right into the batter so it would dissolve and not be gritty. I also replaced a 1/4 cup of the flour called for in the batter with 1/4 cup of 100% cacao powder. This gave me a really delicious chocolate flavor to the cookie. Lastly, I didn't have any chocolate bars on hand so I used a 12 oz bag of chocolate chips for the topping and worked fine. I was iffy about the addition of the walnuts so I only topped a few with them. In my opinion the nuts don't jive well with the rest of the flavors and I didn't like them. I suggest you skip the walnuts all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
First off - AWESOME taste!! Made this recipe last night after trying another coffee bar recipe on this site that I didn't care for. This recipe was by far way, way better. Because I am making these for a public function I followed other reviewers suggestions and: added 1/8 c. instant coffee granules to the flour mixture, cut down the butter and sugar to 3/4 c., upped the vanilla to 2 t. and omitted the nuts. I know, I know, that's not the true recipe then...however, whether you do that or not may not really change the recipe taste that much so take that for what it's worth. Anyway...I used the chocolate chips on the top and the only problem I had was after it cooled overnight and I went to cut these, the chocolate delaminated from the cookie base :( Not sure why but I am going to try this recipe again and melt the choc chips in a separate container first and add a teaspoon of corn syrup and then spread it. Maybe that will help this problem. I also like to add a bit of butterscotch chips to this kind of topping since it gives it a whole new flavor if you want to change it up a bit :) The batter is not exactly cookie dough consistency since it is sticky but it does work. Oh, and I used a glass dish. When I make it again I will use foil to line the pan so I can lift it out of the pan and then I can cut it easier. Stay tuned...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wow! I changed a few things: 3/4 cup butter, 2 tsps vanilla and 1/4 cup strong espresso to the cookie mix, no coffee grounds on top! We ate them hot out of the oven and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
A wonderful bar cookie. This was devoured at a potluck and gor rave reviews. It won a blue ribbon at the county fair and was overall a good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Wow, did this turn out greasy. Just out of morbid curiosity, I tested the base with my cake tester and it came out clean even before it was baked. The flavor was wonderful with 1/3c instant coffee mixed in the the flour and the chocolate chips melted over the top, but I couldn't get over that greasiness. Next time I'll use a regular chocolate chip pan cookie base with the added coffee and save the chocolate chips for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips as I had no candy bars. The idea of sprinkling actual ground coffee seemed strange, but the taste is bewitching. Only problem is that the top is dusty and the walnuts don't stick even though I pressed them in. Maybe it would work better to pre-melt the chocolate and mix the coffee in with the melted chocolate, then spread it over the cookie base and sprinkle on the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Flavor was good....but texture was terrible. I'll try this again, but I'll make very strong coffee instead of using coffee grounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I read the reviews and used 1/4 cup coffee granules in with the flour as suggested, instead of the grounds on top. I also reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. And oh my, these are to die for! I won't be making them too often as my husband and I would be in danger of getting enormously fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Hertfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I gave these as a gift in a coffee gift basket and my bro-in-law loved them. Let the bars cool completely before cutting. I had problems with the chocolate seperating. I think I was in too much of a hurry. Definitely stir in the coffee with the flour. And make sure it is really finely ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
The coffee grounds (how you're suppost to add them) gives it the wrong texture, the cookie base collaspes and because of that when spreading the chocolate, it tears the unstable cookie base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States